Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Zigbee Door Locks

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    25

    Zigbee Door Locks

    Any chance Lutron would add support for Zigbee based door locks from Yale or Kwikset to Radio Ra 2?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by therockhr View Post
    Any chance Lutron would add support for Zigbee based door locks from Yale or Kwikset to Radio Ra 2?
    No, the radio technologies are totally different. But RA2 integrates with many 3rd party systems that can control ZigBee or zwave locks.

  3. #3
    With that being said, can someone help me figure out how to integrage with Zigbee / Zwave locks.... or at least push me in the right direction (i.e. name a "hub" that would work well??)

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by chestnuteddie View Post
    With that being said, can someone help me figure out how to integrage with Zigbee / Zwave locks.... or at least push me in the right direction (i.e. name a "hub" that would work well??)

    Thanks
    To integrate a door lock you are going to have to go to a full home automation system like Control4, Crestron, Elan, Savant, etc. That is why it would be nice to see it somehow integrated into the Radio RA2 system.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by therockhr View Post
    To integrate a door lock you are going to have to go to a full home automation system like Control4, Crestron, Elan, Savant, etc. That is why it would be nice to see it somehow integrated into the Radio RA2 system.
    Is there no way for Lutron and one of those systems to talk to each other through RS232??

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by therockhr View Post
    To integrate a door lock you are going to have to go to a full home automation system like Control4, Crestron, Elan, Savant, etc. That is why it would be nice to see it somehow integrated into the Radio RA2 system.
    Is there no way for Lutron and one of those systems to talk to each other through RS232??

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    610
    Quote Originally Posted by chestnuteddie View Post
    Is there no way for Lutron and one of those systems to talk to each other through RS232??
    Ra2 commands cannot be sent out over RS232 to other devices. therockr's suggestion of third party systems is the only way to integrate non-Lutron devices with the system. You would have to move up to HomeWorks to get RS232 commands out.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

Similar Threads

  1. Integration with door locks.
    By r2@electrasalesltd.ca in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-04-2015, 11:33 AM
  2. Garage Door Lear Car2u and RR-VCRX
    By jfbordenjr in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2014, 09:41 AM
  3. Monitoring the status of a garage door
    By Craig W. in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-27-2014, 12:11 PM
  4. Garage Door Control
    By Vic F. in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-06-2013, 02:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •