Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Safest (best?) way to add new wired seeTouch keypad?

  1. #1

    Question Safest (best?) way to add new wired seeTouch keypad?

    I have a client that has an existing QS system with wired seeTouch keypads and they want to add a few more to the system. When connecting new wired seeTouch keypads, which is the best way to do this:

    - leave the processor powered up, disconnect the QS link, wire in the new keypads and then reconnect the QS link

    or

    - power down the processor, wire in the new keypads and then power the processor back up


    thanks

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    513
    Both methods will definitely work for adding a new keypad. The safest way would be to power down the processor, however.

  3. #3
    Jkvossen, I'd like to hear if you experience issues doing the adder on a live qs link. I have noticed big issues ever since adding a qs wired shade to a hot qs link on a 7.20 project that was very stable from like version 4 or so. I thought maybe a wiring issue, but wiring still seems fine, and problems cleared 100% after power cycling the proc. the issues were lights that would randomly turn on, and if you turn it off it pops back on or another time I could not turn off two loads. If one was off the other popped on and vice versa.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by ekimla View Post
    Jkvossen, I'd like to hear if you experience issues doing the adder on a live qs link. I have noticed big issues ever since adding a qs wired shade to a hot qs link on a 7.20 project that was very stable from like version 4 or so. I thought maybe a wiring issue, but wiring still seems fine, and problems cleared 100% after power cycling the proc. the issues were lights that would randomly turn on, and if you turn it off it pops back on or another time I could not turn off two loads. If one was off the other popped on and vice versa.
    I'll certainly post the results from this work, but I suspect I'll drop power on the processor before I wire the new keypads in.

  5. #5
    just a quick update; I decided to drop power on the processors prior to adding the new keypads..system came back up and is running with no issues

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2017, 12:57 AM
  2. Single seeTouch Keypad for Lights and Shades
    By dinom in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2014, 09:18 AM
  3. Wired Maestros HWD in HomeWorks QS
    By Armando B. in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2014, 05:29 PM
  4. TouchPRO wired sensor, flush mount
    By Ty W. in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-19-2013, 01:40 PM
  5. HomeWorks Illumination wired keypad troubleshoot
    By Craig W. in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 04:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •