Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: wireless connection to Smart Bridge Pro

  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by asherrick View Post
    your mileage may vary.
    That is correct. If you have a lot of metal (square metal ducts, and so on) on the way, it can cut the range to as low as 24', below the 30' guidance.

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian W. View Post
    All of the Caseta dimmers/switches/shades/etc have to be within a 30 foot radius of the bridge, and there is no way to increase the RF coverage. We figure the area coverage to be about 2000 sqft. The Radio Ra2 system has the same requirements, but with that systm you can add additional auxiliary repeaters to expand the RF out to a total area coverage of 10,000 sqft.
    Thank you.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,222
    As long as the Lutron device in not enclosed in a metal box (Faraday Cage), you should still get 30' no problem. The 434Mhz isn't affected as much by the metal construction as Zigbee and Z-Wave's 2.4GHz.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  4. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    As long as the Lutron device in not enclosed in a metal box (Faraday Cage), you should still get 30' no problem. The 434Mhz isn't affected as much by the metal construction as Zigbee and Z-Wave's 2.4GHz.
    That is not true, and was confirmed as much by official Lutron representative.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,222
    Quote Originally Posted by veeeh View Post
    That is not true, and was confirmed as much by official Lutron representative.

    That's interesting. I was never informed of that by Lutron. I've successfully installed Ra2 in commercial applications with similar construction without problems. Did the rep give you any links or documentation?
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  6. #16
    Tech support. Recommended relocating repeater or adding an aux. House is 2x4 and drywall construction, metal ducting for forced air.

  7. #17
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    524
    Large or concentrated metal fixtures (air ducts, filing cabinets, refrigerators, etc.) can block RF signals, whether you are using 484Mhz, or 2GHz. I'm assuming you're talking about Radio Ra2 Main and Aux repeaters, as Caseta doesn't use Aux repeater.

  8. #18
    Yes, that's right. The same rules would apply to the Caseta bridge as well.

  9. #19
    I have also seen the range get shorter when you have a repeater and device that need to communicate through a steel stud wall, and where the RF needs to travel at a shallow angle through the wall. If the signal is nearly perpendicular to wall, it's all good. If you have lots of metal studs to pass through, adding an AUX repeater to create a redundant path, usually solves it. This is not an option with Caseta. Moving the repeater or smart bridge is often helpful.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-26-2018, 09:40 PM
  2. Smart Bridge Pro/Caseta vs RR2
    By Ilans1 in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-18-2017, 09:57 AM
  3. Is Caseta and Smart Bridge Pro Right For Me?
    By therockhr in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2014, 09:59 AM
  4. connection between dimmer, pico and smart bridge
    By yan@dytronix.com in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-2014, 10:12 AM
  5. lutron smart bridge vs smart brigde pro
    By bastor in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2014, 06:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •