Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is Lutron PowPak RMJ-5T-DV-B & LMJ-5T-DV-B interchangable?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    211

    Is Lutron PowPak RMJ-5T-DV-B & LMJ-5T-DV-B interchangable?

    According to the software, LMJ-5T-DV-B is the RR2 compatible power pack for 0-10 volt dimming; however, I have a customer who has 3 mirror lights that I need to use this module with but for now, it's just a standalone/pico setup and he's ordering the RMJ-5T-DV-B.

    If he decides to get RR2 for the rest of the house, can I use what he's getting or will he need to replace them? If not, is the RR2 version compatible with standalone picos?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by SparkyCoog View Post
    According to the software, LMJ-5T-DV-B is the RR2 compatible power pack for 0-10 volt dimming; however, I have a customer who has 3 mirror lights that I need to use this module with but for now, it's just a standalone/pico setup and he's ordering the RMJ-5T-DV-B.

    If he decides to get RR2 for the rest of the house, can I use what he's getting or will he need to replace them? If not, is the RR2 version compatible with standalone picos?
    The RR2 version can be paired independently of the software however if you need to add it to a project you will need to factory default the powpak before you can add it. You cannot, however use the other powpak in RR2.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    211
    Thanks for the response. I guess for now we'll stick with the cheaper standalone power packs and see how it goes...if we end up getting the Ra2 job (somehow i doubt it),then we'd probably eat the cost to upgrade him or something.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    422
    it would be so great in situations like this to pay a link license or device license fee- kind of like the HWQS link license fee to use HWI gear in QS. The RF technology in both devices you list is the same, the software just won't activate the serial number on the RMJ because it knows it's not Ra2.
    We have a client with Ra2 we'd love to flip to HWQS to expand the system but it requires replacement of 60 dimmers. We'd happily pay for a link license to save the trouble and expense of swapping out all the dimmers.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,160
    Quote Originally Posted by digit1 View Post
    it would be so great in situations like this to pay a link license or device license fee- kind of like the HWQS link license fee to use HWI gear in QS. The RF technology in both devices you list is the same, the software just won't activate the serial number on the RMJ because it knows it's not Ra2.
    We have a client with Ra2 we'd love to flip to HWQS to expand the system but it requires replacement of 60 dimmers. We'd happily pay for a link license to save the trouble and expense of swapping out all the dimmers.
    Even better is trying to explain to the customer that you need to replace their seeTouch keypads and Maestro dimmers with seeTouch keypads and Maestro dimmers that look exactly the same, perform the same function, AND there is a 25% premium for it. Most owners will understand that they have outgrown their processor but replacing dimmers and keypads with, from their perspective, no functional improvement is a no-sale.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by SparkyCoog View Post
    According to the software, LMJ-5T-DV-B is the RR2 compatible power pack for 0-10 volt dimming; however, I have a customer who has 3 mirror lights that I need to use this module with but for now, it's just a standalone/pico setup and he's ordering the RMJ-5T-DV-B.

    If he decides to get RR2 for the rest of the house, can I use what he's getting or will he need to replace them? If not, is the RR2 version compatible with standalone picos?
    It seems that I have similar query, did you get the solution for this?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,160
    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan951 View Post
    It seems that I have similar query, did you get the solution for this?
    See post #2.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by randyc View Post
    See post #2.
    Thanks Randyc, it helped!

  9. Likes randyc liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Multiple Light Dimming with PowPak RMJS-8T-DV-B?
    By Beardog in forum General Discussion - Vive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2018, 02:32 PM
  2. PowPak unaffected mode
    By Bert_Mtl in forum Programming - Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2018, 11:37 AM
  3. Lutron PowPak RMJ-5T-DV-B and Smart Bridge Pro
    By oleggold in forum Programming - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2016, 11:09 AM
  4. Phase control dimming PowPak
    By pscheetz in forum Design Assistance - Vive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-18-2016, 09:31 AM
  5. PowPak/TriPak
    By Neurorad in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-18-2013, 07:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •