Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Lights blinking when turned on using "Alexa Group" command

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    5

    Lights blinking when turned on using "Alexa Group" command

    I recently installed 3 Caseta wireless dimming switches in my kitchen and they all work perfectly individually. I created a group called "Kitchen Lights" and use Alexa to turn them on and off. It works perfectly turning the lights off but when I turn them on one of the 3 strings of lights will blink on and off until I turn that switch off then back on again. It's never the same switch that does this, it's a random thing and it does this about 80% of the time. I'm new at this and I'm guessing it could be something I did wrong either in the "Lutron" or "Alexa" app. Any suggestions on getting this working right?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,160
    It doesn't sound like a programming issue. I would check the wiring. Make sure one of the dimmers isn't feeding power to the other two. Also make sure there isn't a dimmer elsewhere in the circuit.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. Likes Chuck43 liked this post
  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    422
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck43 View Post
    I recently installed 3 Caseta wireless dimming switches in my kitchen and they all work perfectly individually. I created a group called "Kitchen Lights" and use Alexa to turn them on and off. It works perfectly turning the lights off but when I turn them on one of the 3 strings of lights will blink on and off until I turn that switch off then back on again. It's never the same switch that does this, it's a random thing and it does this about 80% of the time. I'm new at this and I'm guessing it could be something I did wrong either in the "Lutron" or "Alexa" app. Any suggestions on getting this working right?
    One of the weirder Ra2 problems I experienced was a 6NA dimmer that worked great when used directly but caused the lights to freak out when using a keypad button in another location to control the same load.

    The 6NA dimmer was told to set it's phase control via auto mode- once I set the dimmer to the correct phase control this error went away.

    If the Caseta dimmers are "NA" type (if they are adaptive) I would try following the instructions to set the phase correctly instead of leaving them in auto mode.

Similar Threads

  1. Basement Lights "ON" Scene tripping circuit breaker
    By Donaldsa in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2018, 08:20 PM
  2. "TRANSFER" resets all occupancy sensors to "Enabled"
    By joshg in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2017, 01:32 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-29-2016, 02:31 PM
  4. Maestro Dimmers - "Lights of America" 5w chandelier bulbs
    By Ted Bell in forum General Discussion - LED
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2014, 12:45 PM
  5. Only the "P" LED is blinking on the processor
    By Craig W. in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2014, 06:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •