Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Creating Scenes with RA2 and keypads

  1. #1

    Creating Scenes with RA2 and keypads

    Hi everyone, I might have missed this in part of the RA2 training as I did the first half or so several months ago then completed it the other day. I'm using the main repeater with a few dimmers and a keypad to test it, and so far things are working great and it's really easy to configure. I was wondering though about scenes and how they work. When I watched the training, it showed from what I recall that you select a keypad button under program, and then on the right you select what you want each light to do, after selecting the scene type from the drop down at the bottom.

    What happens though if I have many lights included in this button, and want to have other buttons on other keypads do the same thing? Do I program the same config into each, or is it possible to create a scene instead, and assign that scene to the button instead?

    With HomeSeer it seems like it created a bunch of scenes from the main repeater which seem to be the phantom buttons. I thought maybe you apply all your lighting presets to a phantom button and assign that button to a keypad button but that doesn't seem possible either. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,252
    After you program the button, select one of the "shared" button types from the drop-down at the bottom. You will be prompted to name the scene or use an existing one. On the 2nd button, select one of the "shared" button types and a 2nd drop down will allow you to select the shared scene. This is also where you can edit the scene names.

    There is a limitation when you use shared scenes. The owner will not be able to add/delete ones from this scene. They can adjust levels and, of course, adjustments apply to any button using the shared scene.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    I don't have anything called shared in the drop down when I check? This is on the program tab where you pick the drop down to pick like Path of Light, Single/Multi-room scene etc? Spent about 5-10 minutes I can't find any mention of the word Share anywhere in the RA2 program?

    Edit: Says it's for inclusive software only which I don't have. Weird this feature would be missing, kind of strange they expect you to create everything over and over manually. So if I have 3 keypads and the RA2 app, I need to make that same scene 4 times, and if I ever want to change it I have to change it 4 times. Very inefficient.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,252
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scene.jpg 
Views:	46 
Size:	127.0 KB 
ID:	802
    Yes, it should be in the dropdown where you select single room, etc.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,223
    Quote Originally Posted by psychobunny View Post
    I don't have anything called shared in the drop down when I check? This is on the program tab where you pick the drop down to pick like Path of Light, Single/Multi-room scene etc? Spent about 5-10 minutes I can't find any mention of the word Share anywhere in the RA2 program?

    Edit: Says it's for inclusive software only which I don't have. Weird this feature would be missing, kind of strange they expect you to create everything over and over manually. So if I have 3 keypads and the RA2 app, I need to make that same scene 4 times, and if I ever want to change it I have to change it 4 times. Very inefficient.
    Right click the button you are working on, and copy. You can then paste to any other button accept the phantoms on the main. Just be mindful of any changes you make and copy them again to all the "same" keypad buttons.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    108
    You can manually copy and paste buttons - just right click on the buttons.

  7. #7
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    60
    Thank you for your post tupojanuca.The RRD-6D dimmer can still be activated as any of the following: 6ND, 10D, & 10ND in the newer versions of the software.

Similar Threads

  1. Scenes without Keypads
    By nicholass817 in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-23-2019, 05:42 PM
  2. Quantum 1.5 to 2.7: Q-Admin Creating a Timeclock
    By Rob L. in forum Programming - Quantum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2016, 04:07 PM
  3. Quantum 1.5 to 2.7: Q-Admin Creating a New System User
    By Rob L. in forum Programming - Quantum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2016, 04:02 PM
  4. Creating Slow Shade Movement
    By TurnipTruck in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2014, 07:51 AM
  5. Creating a Support File from a Remote Connection
    By Armando B. in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2013, 06:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •