Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Can I adapt the Caseta Switch + mechanical three-way installation to multi-location?

  1. #1

    Question Can I adapt the Caseta Switch + mechanical three-way installation to multi-location?

    I have just installed a Caseta hub and plug-in controller as part of the conversion to a less-stupid home. So far so good, and plans are in place for some of the simpler one-way and three-way upgrades.

    I am also exploring using a Caseta switch (6ANS) to replace an existing 4-switch configuration that controls fluorescent and incandescent lights in parts of the basement and, most importantly, the basement stairs. This is part of a plan to replace the "bulbs" with non-dimmable LED without replacing any fixtures.

    I have gone through the Advanced installation document.

    I understand (more or less) the Caseta switch + mechanical in a three-way configuration, and the Caseta switch + Pico On/Off remotes in the multi-location configuration.

    Is there some way to adapt the mechanical option to the multi-location situation? I know (the hard way) four-way switches are more complicated than three way (which are complicated enough). All of the electrical boxes have a neutral wire available.

    I'm a little worried that the farthest Pico remote might be too far from the switch although the Caseta hub is definitely in range.

    Thank you for this.

  2. #2
    UPDATE: I did search extensively before creating this post, however this popped up which answers the question (no).
    https://forums.lutron.com/showthread.php/3775-Multi-locations-with-mechanical-switch

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    612
    If everything is in range of the hub you are good. The hub will act as a repeater and relay any signals in its frequency range.

    You can also add 1 plug-in dimmer and program it to act as an extender.
    Element Integration
    5621-122 Departure Drive
    Raleigh, NC 27616
    www.elementintegration.com

  4. #4
    Thanks for the info. I had previously added the plug-in dimmer and it automatically chose to become a repeater. I'll see how the 4 switch installation goes.

Similar Threads

  1. Multi locations with mechanical switch
    By kimballpc in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-11-2018, 10:22 AM
  2. New Installation - Caseta Pro Dimmer with Mechanical Toggle
    By itsmattlol in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2018, 08:53 PM
  3. NEW 3-way installation with mechanical switch
    By bombcar in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2018, 09:44 AM
  4. Model number with -R at the end of Multi-location In wall switch
    By cuckooc in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2017, 10:02 AM
  5. Pico Dimmer Switch and Smart Switch in a multi-location setup
    By jbaude in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2017, 04:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •