Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Caseta PD-6WCL's on track lights? Halogens?

Caseta PD-6WCL's on track lights? Halogens?

Hello everyone – this is my first time diving into the whole switch/bulb/fixture problem so be gentle ;). Before we get started, I’ve made extensive use of the Lutron compatibility tools to no avail.

Here is the hardware setup and I’ll list the problems afterwards. I have 2 setups that I’m working with, both involve the same model of track light (2 individual units).

Setup 1: Lutron Diva Dimmer in wall DV-600P hooked up to a track light from Art Electronics Lighting Co., Ltd. with 3 heads, dated August 1992. Each head has a transformer and this is what they say on each

Model: ART-T02
    INPUT: AC 120V ± 10% 50/60Hz
    OUTPUT: AC 12V ? 50W MAX

I’m not sure the style of track since it’s so old, but each of the heads has a Halogen bulb in it, they say FIRTON 12V50W EXN on them. My research tells me these are type MR16 halogens with a GU5.3 base (bi pin NO twist lock).

Setup 2: Lutron Caseta PD-6WCL-WH in wall Dimmer hooked up to a different track light (same exact model and bulbs as above).

Problem 1: On the first setup, there is a terrible whine/buzz noise. My guess is, after looking at the dimmer (it clearly says on the side) that it’s for incandescent lights only. I never set this up and my condo seems to have come this way. SO, I want to fix the whine/buzz at the least, but if I can, get a newer wireless dimmer on this that works (not absolutely necessary). See solutions proposed below.