Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Things to know when upgrading an Original HomeWorks system to HomeWorks Illumination

  1. #1
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    409

    Things to know when upgrading an Original HomeWorks system to HomeWorks Illumination

    When upgrade an Original HomeWorks system to a HomeWorks Illuminations system there a few things you want to be aware of.

    Keypads


    Original HomeWorks Keypads can still be used in Illumination. You will need to change the keypad link type to a HWV keypad link. This can be done by going into the panel assignment screen and clicking on the processor. Next go to the properties box, select the equipment tab. At the bottom of the properties box you will need to select show advance properties. This will now allow you to change the keypad link to a HWV keypad link.
    When using a HWV keypad link you can only have 16 keypads and they must all be HWV keypads. You can not have seeTouch Keypads along with HWV keypads on the same link. When building your database in Illuminations you will need to use corresponding HWI keypads to take the place of the HWV keypads. The HWV keypads do not support a hold or double tap so even thought the option is there in the software nothing will happen. Remember that the HWV-IP5 looks like a 5 button keypad but it also has CCI's on the back that correspond to the button on the front of the unit. You will still get the same functionality out of that keypad when the system gets upgraded.

    Note: There was more than one generation of HWV keypads. You can tell the difference by looking at the size of the LED's on the keypad. If the LED's on the keypad are small then you will get a release (KBR) for raise/lower however if the LED's are large then you do not get a release for the raise/lower and if they need or want this function the keypads will need to be replaced. If a customer reports that a raise button "gets stuck" and raises the loads all the way to 100% after one press, then they likely have the older generation keypads.
    Processor(s)

    When determining how many processors you will need when upgrading there is some critical things to remember. First with Original Homework's, each panel has a processor in it. Each processor can handle RPM's, keypads, as well as Vareo Dimmers. There is only 1 four-conductor wire run between panels. So if you have more than 1 panel and each panel has any 2 of the following RPM's, keypads, and dimmers you might need a new processor in each panel since you only have one wire run between them. If the panels are close enough and they can run wire than you can get away with 1 proc.Vareos


    The Vareo Dimmer that work with Original Homework’s will also work with Illuminations. The main thing with Vareo's to look it is if they have dip switches or not. The ones with dip switch address and work like any other system Vareo. You may find some that do not have dip switches these dimmers have a hard address that was set from the Original Homework’s processor. You can still use these dimmers you will just have to find out what hard address they were set to. You can do this by connecting them to the new processor and enable monitoring. After you hit the dimmer its address will show up in the terminal screen. Make sure after you do this that you only have 1 dimmer for each address on each bus..
    RPMs


    Now for the RPM's. There were 2 styles of these units as well. The new style that you should be familiar with where the heat sink fins run vertical. If they have 4U's or 4M they are the same as the ones in the software. If they are the 4S then you will need to put the RPM in as a 4U and set all the loads as NON Dim loads. The old style has the heat sink fins going horizontal. This older style will need to be replaced wit the newer RPM's.
    CCO


    There is also a CCO board that Original Homework’s had it was a LVOC8 that got connected to the processor using a ribbon cable. You will not be able to use this with Illuminations you will need a new CCO board.
    Last edited by Ty W.; 07-30-2013 at 10:17 AM.

  2. Thanks Armando B., jkvossen thanked for this post
    Likes Armando B. liked this post
  3. #2
    Is there a program utility that will convert an Original homework's .mdb files to Illumination or even Interactive for that matter? This would be helpful in generating more detailed reports for quoting QS upgrades. Some sort of method for opening in Access or Excel would be desirable as well.

    I can export the labels out of the HomeWorks Programming Utility software but that does not give me everything I need. Thanks.

  4. #3
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    513
    Unfortunately, Lutron has no way of converting a HomeWorks Original database to an Interactive or Illuminations database. Please be aware, however, HomeWorks Interactive files can be converted to HomeWorks Illuminations files.

Similar Threads

  1. HomeWorks Interactive Bridge
    By Ty W. in forum Design Assistance - Legacy HW
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2013, 01:11 PM
  2. HomeWorks QS keypad base units
    By Craig W. in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-21-2013, 11:49 AM
  3. HomeWorks QS RF troubleshoot
    By Craig W. in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-13-2013, 12:39 PM
  4. HomeWorks Illumination wired keypad troubleshoot
    By Craig W. in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 05:47 PM
  5. HomeWorks Illuminations RF toroubleshooting guide
    By Craig W. in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 05:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •