Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: External Third Party Contact Closure Switch

  1. #1

    Question External Third Party Contact Closure Switch

    Hi,

    I have a fully working HWQS system, but the client has specified a model of third party switch outside that she wants to use to control the lights outside.

    The switches are momentary contact closure switches which have been wired back to a Lutron QSEIO Board in the main lutron head end.

    I was wondering if there is an allowance in the programming to allow these to be used, or a work around that i can use?

    Any Advice or help would be greatly apprieciated!

    Thanks,

    Andrew

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    17
    How about adding a "3rd party sensor" and assigning that to an input on the QSEIO and then on occupancy settings of the QSEIO under programming, set the load you want under "occupied" and then on "unoccupied" set it to unaffected.
    Do the same for the "Off" contact closure switch.
    I've never tried it - but I don't see another way. Yet the spec sheet on the QSEIO says:

    Using the inputs, contact closures in other
    equipment, such as those listed below, can
    trigger HomeWorks® QS system events (e.g.:
    shades, lights, HVAC):
    – Motion and occupant sensors;
    – Timeclocks and push buttons;
    – AV equipment;
    – Security systems

  3. #3
    Don't assign a 3rd party sensor. Just go to the device under the programming view and you can program the inputs as if they were buttons.

  4. Thanks Armando B. thanked for this post
    Likes Armando B. liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Maestro C.L Dimmer wired with a standard 3 way switch.
    By Blair S. in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2017, 11:19 AM
  2. Best switch or dimmer for motion lights
    By trx250r87 in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2014, 01:52 PM
  3. Switch Solution
    By klautt in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2014, 05:07 AM
  4. Can I use an 8-ANS to simulate a momentary contact
    By DSinSF in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-14-2013, 01:08 AM
  5. Aurora - Adding a replacement dimmer/switch
    By Blair S. in forum Programming - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2013, 07:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •