Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Vacation Mode

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    14

    Vacation Mode

    Hi,

    I am having difficulties understanding and programming a vacation mode for a client and can't seem to find technical information on how to properly do this. When vacation mode is pressed, if someone comes home and presses a scene, does that cancel the vacation mode? Is vacation mode a toggle on/off? When programming this, do I have to enter a vacation mode event as well as a cancel vacation mode event?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    245
    With Radio Ra2, if the system is in Away mode and someone comes home and presses a scene, the system will stay in Away mode. Away mode is a toggle on/off via a keypad button. When the system is in Away mode it will run timeclocks that are programmed to run in away mode. When creating your timeclock events, you can have them programmed to happen during Normal and Away or just in one mode.

  3. #3
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    109
    To simulate a vacation mode in RadioRA 2, you first need to program several timeclock events that are only triggered to execute during the "Away" timeclock mode. You then need to program a keypad button to trigger the "Away" timeclock mode. The button will act as a toggle between the "Away" and "Normal" timeclock modes. For instance, when the homeowner leaves for vacation they would press the "Away" button which will execute the "Away" timeclock mode events each day that the homeowner is out of town. The status LED for that button will be lit to indicate the system is in "Away" mode. When the homeowner returns home, they would press the same "Away" button which will toggle the system timeclock back into "Normal" mode, turn off the status LED on the button, and begin executing the the normal events.

  4. #4
    To bad you can't hit an away button and also control some circuits. Would be way more used. Had to hunt around for the "away" or "Alt" mode selection
    Bradley
    elahome.com

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    11
    Can the Away Mode be on a Phantom Button, to be accessed via a 3rd Party Control System?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,141
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulHagen View Post
    Can the Away Mode be on a Phantom Button, to be accessed via a 3rd Party Control System?
    yes, or you could send the code in directly to change timeclock mode, just remember to return to normal with another command.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  7. Thanks Kozino thanked for this post
    Likes Kozino liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Security mode
    By Craig W. in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-16-2019, 05:39 AM
  2. Heating and cooling mode changeover algorithm
    By ekimla in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-30-2015, 07:42 AM
  3. Security Mode Request
    By randyc in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2014, 11:44 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2014, 07:08 AM
  5. Vacation Mode?
    By thefish in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-31-2013, 09:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •