Thanks Thanks:  7
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: RA2 Select Questios

RA2 Select Questios

Hello. I'm a newbie to Automated Lighting. I started experimenting with some Caseta components back in October. I've grown our system to about 26 devices and just pulled the trigger on some Sivoia QS Shades. The addition of the shade is going to put me real close to the 50 device limit and I would like to add more light controls and shades in the future. I am a DIY guy. I really enjoy Do'ing It Myself. That is half of the enjoyment for me. I have seen here that Lutron makes another DIY line, RA2 Select. I am considering pulling my Caseta switches and dimmer out and replacing them with RA2 Select devices. I realize I will need to remove and replace my Caseta Switches and Smart Bridge.

Here are my questions for you knowledgeable folks.
    1. Is the RA2 Select line really targeted toward and available to the DIY customer?
    2. If so, where can I buy them...?
    3. Can I use Maestro RF Dimmers with RA2 Select?
    4. Can I re-use my Pico Remotes?
    5. What would be the RA2 Select Equivalent to:

• PD-10NXD Caseta Pro MLV Dimmer
    • PD-6ANS Caseta In Wall Switch
    • PD-5NE Caseta ELV Dimmer
    • PD-3PCL Caseta Outlet

Is there anything else I need to know or consider...?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Hi,

To answer some of your questions:

RA2 Select is sold by a dealer but customers can add/remove devices from the contractor setup after it has been installed. I suppose you can purchase the devices from a dealer and install them yourself once you have the bridge and switches. No, I don't believe you can use re-use the Maestro RF stuff. Yes, you can reuse the Pico remotes.

The equivalents aren't as straightforward but I'll provide some insight:

PD-10NXD is a dimmer and the MLV dimmers are: RRD-6NA, RRD-10ND (these require the neutrals) The RRD-6CL and RRD-10D don't require any neutrals.

PD-6ANS is a switch that's replaceable with RRD-8ANS.