Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: NEW 3-way installation with mechanical switch

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    1

    NEW 3-way installation with mechanical switch

    If I'm reading the diagrams correctly here: http://www.casetawireless.com/Docume...ced%20Inst.pdf - there's no need to run two travellers (a total of three wires) to the mechanical switch, just to jumper two together, right? I can just run two wire to a normal switch and use that as the mechanical switch? It would fit the schematic diagram on page 30 (and it seems something similar would be doable with the diagram on page 24).

    It would be nice to have some new installation diagrams - not everyone is replacing existing wiring or using PICO remotes.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,160
    No. In the application shown on p.30, the mechanical toggle switch is being used as a line-voltage contact closure. The travelers are not tied together.

    Traveler 1 sends power to the Caseta switch. This connection could be made directly on the toggle without need for a jumper.

    Traveler 2 sends the output of the toggle/CC to the Caseta switch blue wire. When the Caseta switch sees a change in voltage on the blue wire it knows the other end wants to turn the light on/off.

    The white/neutral is carried through to complete the circuit.

    Even if it were possible, I would not recommend it. You would be establishing a proprietary wiring method making it difficult, if not impossible, to use anything but Lutron Caseta. You could never use traditional 3-way devices. You would have double the number of SKUs - 1 for retrofit and 1 for new construction/proprietary wiring method.

    I would also note that Caseta is designed to be a retail product so the majority of installations are going to be retrofit.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by bombcar View Post
    If I'm reading the diagrams correctly here: http://www.casetawireless.com/Docume...ced%20Inst.pdf - there's no need to run two travellers (a total of three wires) to the mechanical switch, just to jumper two together, right? I can just run two wire to a normal switch and use that as the mechanical switch? It would fit the schematic diagram on page 30 (and it seems something similar would be doable with the diagram on page 24).

    It would be nice to have some new installation diagrams - not everyone is replacing existing wiring or using PICO remotes.
    Like Randy said, I would not run 14/2 for future considerations and the chance the customer would want normal switches

Similar Threads

  1. Multi locations with mechanical switch
    By kimballpc in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-11-2018, 10:22 AM
  2. Can PD-5NE be used with a mechanical toggle switch in a two switch setup?
    By donb6 in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2017, 04:25 PM
  3. Can PD-5NE be used 3 way in conjunction with a mechanical switch?
    By donb6 in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2017, 02:38 PM
  4. PD-5WS with a mechanical 3 way switch cannot get it to work
    By andy1976 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2017, 09:40 PM
  5. 3-Way with Mechanical Switch | Pro
    By Tucker1 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2016, 11:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •