Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Programming training

Programming training

Hi all.
    I have been installing Lutron Homeworks for about 18 years now mostly in the UK, but rarely have to do anything complex within the programming, regarding variables, conditional logic etc.
    Very much Vanilla programming.
    I know the system can accomplish much more but as I am based in Africa predominantly (now) I have the opportunity to include much more.
    For instance over here we all have private boreholes for water which is generally manually switched by a Gateman or house staff when the owner is at home. I would like to automate this depending on an occupancy sensor or a previous button press indicating occupancy but cant find any actual programming guide or even guidelines.
    There are also many variables that I can add but again can't find any 'how to' guide or application notes.
    There are so many different scenarios where I can add a 'WOW' (in African eyes anyway) that I don't want to be constantly on the forum asking how to do this and that and being a general nuisance to everybody.
    Many thanks in advance for any assistance you can give

Andrew

Under the main program drop down there is a field called 'variables.' When programming buttons, clock events, etc. there is a drop down at the top of the right window called "Program Type," that you can change to conditional. They are fairly intuitive but you may have to do some experimenting.

There used to be some videos for Illumination but I don't think they would apply.

I have sent some stuff to Lutron and said, "Will this work?" They are pretty good about it as long as you don't send them 10 a day.

Lutron RPS sensors all have a timeout. You would have to find a 3rd party sensor that does not have a timeout. I've had zero success in getting the homeowner to remember to press buttons to let the house know they are home or away.