Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: New home electrical

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    1

    New home electrical

    Hi. Iím new to the forum and Lutron If you plan to utilize Lutron throughout a home or building that is a new build, would you design/run the electrical system differently than you normally would? Would there be anywhere that there would be a cost saving in the initial installation.?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,148
    Yes. You can eliminate some 3-way/4-way wiring but I would not expect to see a decrease in the electricians bill.

    If you are using Remote Power Panels, the electrician will have to run wires from the individual rooms back to the panels and run additional power feeds for the panels. This will add significant cost to the electrician bill.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    26
    If you are specifying completely with Lutron Caseta (or RA2) and Pico's you may reduce the cost (less copper to run and associated labor and termination activity.)

    However, there are some issues that you local AHJ (building inspector) may have issue, especially around getting switches in all the right places and accepting the Pico's as switches.

    My recommendation would be to still run all the copper and terminate properly for use with Pico's that way you have the wires there if needed and no issue with the AHJ.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by MattS View Post
    If you are specifying completely with Lutron Caseta (or RA2) and Pico's you may reduce the cost (less copper to run and associated labor and termination activity.)

    However, there are some issues that you local AHJ (building inspector) may have issue, especially around getting switches in all the right places and accepting the Pico's as switches.

    My recommendation would be to still run all the copper and terminate properly for use with Pico's that way you have the wires there if needed and no issue with the AHJ.
    I agree, you may be able to eliminate a 3-way or two here or there but wire the house as you normally would. Use Decora style switches so that the switches use the same wall plates as Caseta.

Similar Threads

  1. LTEA4U1UKS??Hi-Lume LED driver with electrical back-box)
    By haruba in forum Lutron Hi-Performance LED Driver - LED
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2017, 02:19 PM
  2. Apple Home Kit - Potential Answer to Home Automation Integration
    By schalliol in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 11-15-2015, 01:02 AM
  3. Lutron DFDU Diimmable Receptacle - Electrical Wiring For It
    By eternallightbeing in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-19-2015, 03:30 PM
  4. Adding a keypad to RadioRa2 system - electrical requirements?
    By geofry in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-30-2014, 05:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •