Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Disabling Occupancy Sensor with Essentials

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4

    Disabling Occupancy Sensor with Essentials

    Hi,

    I'm trying to set a lrf2-ocr2b-p-wh occupancy sensor to be disabled in a bedroom closet with a timeclock event in Essentials 10.6. The sensor is set to be disabled at 9:00pm, but it keeps operating after that time. The timeclock event is set for all modes, all days. Nothing I do seems to be able to disable it. The sensor is paired with a MRF2-6AND switch (which is not added into Essentials).

    The sensor activated fine, and all transfers completed properly without a hitch. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,263
    The Essentials/Inclusive software only handles the occupancy sensor as it pertains to RadioRA2 devices. The MRF2 device does not operate with the main repeater. See below for how signals are processed via RadioRA2 from the sensor.

    Sensor input --> Main Repeater receives --> programming installed via laptop --> Main Repeater transmits --> dimmers and/or switches repsonds accordingly

    For Maestro Wireless models with the MRF2 part number:

    Sensor Input --> dimmer/switch receives --> onboard processor interprets signal and initiates appropriate action

    In both cases, the sensor never stops sending it's "occupied" or "unoccupied" signals. In the case of the MRF2 device, the main repeater cannot change the behavior as the signal does not get processed by the main, only the switch/dimmer. If you need this to happen, swap the MRF2 for a compatible RadioRA2 device.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  3. Likes dflateau liked this post
  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    Ah, I think I see.

    Let me know if this is right.

    My LRF2 signals the Repeater when it senses occupancy, then the Repeater communicates with the switch that's associated with the LRF2 load and switches the lights on. I had assumed since my LRF2 was "paired" with the MRF2, that the LRF2 itself was telling the switch to turn the lights on, hence my idea that the MRF2 switch would work in this way with the LRF2 and its programming. Gotcha.

    Is that right? Thanks again for the response!

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,263
    You are correct. I am still confused on the part number for the switch/dimmer. Is it an MRF2 or an RRD?
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Mike.

    My occupancy sensor is lrf2-ocr2b-p-wh (added into RA2 Essentials and attempted to be programmed in there) and the switch the sensor is paired with is an MRF2-6AND (not in Essentials - there was no option for it, and I'm assuming that's because it does not communicate with RA2).



  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,263
    I would replace the MRF2 with the equivalent model from RadioRA2 and you will get the functionality you are looking for in the dimmer and sensor. You would need to add to the system and then program the sensor to that specific dimmer or switch. The timeclock function on the sensor would then operate the way you wanted.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  8. Likes dflateau liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Disabling Occupancy Sensor on Maestro C.L Dimmer
    By Mukund in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2018, 03:45 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2017, 11:28 AM
  3. Disabling Occupancy Sensor on Maestro C.L Dimmer
    By Mukund in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-2016, 09:21 AM
  4. Disabling Occupancy Sensor on Maestro® C•L® Dimmer
    By Mukund in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2016, 01:37 PM
  5. Disabling Occupancy Sensor on Maestro® C•L® Dimmer
    By Mukund in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2016, 01:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •