Thanks Thanks:  9
Likes Likes:  16
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: 4 Way Switch Help

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    211
    Yes you need to buy maestro accessory dimmers which are also called remote dimmers or companion dimmers according to what flavor maestro you have (radio Ra2 and Homeworks QS also use them).

    They look like they're regular Maestro dimmers except they don't have to LED indicators on them. It will also give you the ability to dim the lights from any location which you can't to do with manual switches.

  2. Thanks Justin F. thanked for this post
    Likes Justin F. liked this post
  3. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    ahhhhh okay I got ya know. So I would need to replace the 3way and 4way switches with a maestro accessory dimmers?

  4. Likes Justin F. liked this post
  5. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    211
    Yup..they either have to be all mechanical or all smart. On the 4way you'll have one extra traveler than you have screws but remember that the blue screw are all on the same line so one will be in and one will be out. Just look at the diagram.

  6. Thanks Justin F. thanked for this post
    Likes Justin F. liked this post
  7. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    fantastic! Thank you very much for the help. Much appreciated. Happy Holidays :)

  8. Likes Justin F. liked this post
  9. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    211
    Good luck and if you see weird wiring, call an electrician... preferably a Lutron certified one ;)

  10. Thanks Justin F. thanked for this post
    Likes Justin F. liked this post
  11. #16
    4-way switches have four terminals each with two pairs of travelers (one set usually black and one set usually brass color). A four switch configuration will have two 3-way switches, one on each end and two 4-way switches in the middle.

  12. Thanks Justin F. thanked for this post
    Likes Justin F. liked this post
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring Question - Replacing a Toggle Switch with a RRD-8ANS-SW switch
    By pglover19 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-13-2018, 09:48 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2018, 01:23 PM
  3. Pico Dimmer Switch and Smart Switch in a multi-location setup
    By jbaude in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2017, 04:06 PM
  4. Can PD-5NE be used with a mechanical toggle switch in a two switch setup?
    By donb6 in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2017, 04:25 PM
  5. Caseta ON/OFF Switch and normal toggle switch
    By hgmobile in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2016, 09:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •