Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Multi locations with mechanical switch

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    4

    Multi locations with mechanical switch

    Is it possible to use a Lutron PD-5WS-DV in a multiple location application (3 switches) with two standard mechanical switches? I am trying to avoid using the Pico remotes.

    Thanks,
    Chris

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,186
    No. Only in the case of a two switch system. The "third" switch would be a four-way switch, and will break both switch legs at some point. You could use one mechanical three-way and one Pico to accomplish your task.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Mike. If I did use mechanical and a Pico, would I use the jumper on the mechanical like in a two switch system?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,186
    Quote Originally Posted by kimballpc View Post
    Thanks Mike. If I did use mechanical and a Pico, would I use the jumper on the mechanical like in a two switch system?
    Yes, that's it exactly. The other location would just tie through directly. Use a wallplate adaptor and wallpate for the Pico and it should look nice and clean.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  5. Thanks kimballpc, SJCampbell47 thanked for this post
  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by SDR-Mike View Post
    Yes, that's it exactly. The other location would just tie through directly. Use a wallplate adaptor and wallpate for the Pico and it should look nice and clean.
    This info is very helpful. Thank you.

    I just want to make sure I understand the rewiring/removal of the four-way switches. I have the two travelers from one direction wired to the "silver" terminals and the two travelers from the other direction wired to the "black" terminals on the four-way. To do the bypass, do I connect one of the "silver" travellers to one of the "black" travelers, then connect the other two travellers (i.e., red-to-red and black-to-black)?

    Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-23-2019, 11:24 AM
  2. Can PD-5NE be used with a mechanical toggle switch in a two switch setup?
    By donb6 in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2017, 04:25 PM
  3. Can PD-5NE be used 3 way in conjunction with a mechanical switch?
    By donb6 in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2017, 02:38 PM
  4. PD-5WS with a mechanical 3 way switch cannot get it to work
    By andy1976 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2017, 09:40 PM
  5. 3-Way with Mechanical Switch | Pro
    By Tucker1 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2016, 11:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •