Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: RRD-6CL slow flashing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    3

    RRD-6CL slow flashing

    New Lutron user here, tried searching for my issue, but couldn't find much. I have a Main Repeater and an RRD-6CL-WH dimmer and I'm just doing an initial test to see if they will work for me. The switch itself works fine to turn on/off & dim the load. Following the Manual Setup guide, when I put the repeater in add mode and then hold down a button for 3 seconds on the switch, it starts "slow flashing" the currently lit LED (on for 3, off for 1). While it's slow flashing if I take the repeater out of Add mode, the switch LED stops flashing and goes back to solid.

    I've factory reset both devices quite a few times.

    I'm planning to drive this system via a Loxone controller communicating over RS232, so I need the repeater to work. Anyone have any ideas for figuring out if the problem is with the repeater or the switch?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,263
    The slow flash indicates it does not below to a repeater. Once added to a main, the flash significantly speeds up, to about 1 per second.

    If you are going to control over RS232, why are you trying to manually add via push-button programming? It could be possible that your integration won't work because of the old school "walk around" programming. I would call tech to verify. You may need to program via laptop.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by SDR-Mike View Post
    why are you trying to manually add via push-button programming?
    The way I understood it is that my controller would talk to the repeater via the RS232 connection telling it which devices to change. In order for the repeater to talk to the 6CL, the device needs to be added to the repeater first. Perhaps there is a difference between "push-button programming" and programming via PC. I was able to get telnet access to the repeater yesterday and running the command to export the database as XML failed. I'm currently going through the RA2 L1 training course to learn all of this better and gain access to the software. I think maybe I need to init the database on the repeater via the software before I can start adding devices to it. We'll see once I've completed the training.

    Thanks for the reply!

Similar Threads

  1. Slights slow to turn on/off
    By PicoTTS in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2017, 02:32 PM
  2. RRD-6CL Flashing When Off
    By schalliol in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-22-2016, 06:08 PM
  3. iPhone App v2.3 Slow Startup
    By DBarnes in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2015, 03:15 PM
  4. HWQS - just too slow to catch double tap and cycle dim ?
    By JDearden in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-11-2014, 05:29 PM
  5. Creating Slow Shade Movement
    By TurnipTruck in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2014, 07:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •