Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  2
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Advice on adding WIRELESS shades to WIRED link?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    23

    Advice on adding WIRELESS shades to WIRED link?

    Hi,

    I am wanting to add some Lutron Triathlon shades to a Winter Garden Room which is connected to a whole house Homeworks QS system. There is no option of wiring the shades as the building works is complete, hence Triathlon.
    The client would like the blinds to be controllable remotely as per the rest of the system and via a pico control in the room.


    My connection point to the QS bus is on a wired link only so I cannot use a Hybrid repeater so I guess my only option would be the following:


    Install a wireless grafik eye QS controller with 1 shade group control to the wired bus. I then would link the shades to the shade group and the pico to the grafik eye.


    Would this work?


    Is there a better less expensive solution?


    Many thanks

  2. Thanks Kevin P. thanked for this post
    Likes Kevin P. liked this post
  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    330
    Hello jwbcinergy,
    Thank you for your post.
    The best option is to get the shades on an processor RF link. The client will only be able to control the shade using the app and other control points if they are a part of the Homeworks system. Using the standalone option with the Grafik Eye would work but is not the preferred option since this will orphan the shades away from the rest of the system.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Blair S.

    I’m afraid I have no processor links available to set to RF.

    I’ve had a conversation with EMEA support and they have given me an option, using a RadioRA main repeater stand-alone system connected to the LAN to control the blinds. I should then be able to create a phantom keypad in HWQS to control the blinds via the RA2 system over IP.

    What are your thoughts on this? I could not find the IP commands for RA2 but there was an app note on HW doing this same procedure using RS232. I assume the RA2 IP commands are the same as Grafik Eye QS.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    427
    Don't mix RA2with QS UGH !!!

    I would add an additional single link qs processor to the system. then add wired repeater to that processor. I would then add repeaters wirelessly until you can pick up the shades.

  6. Thanks Blair S. thanked for this post
    Likes Blair S. liked this post
  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    135
    Lutron has a single link processor that is $800 retail. This would give you the extra link you need with out the expense of a $1400 processor.
    LED, Inc.
    10401 Cokesbury Ln
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  8. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by randyc View Post
    Lutron has a single link processor that is $800 retail. This would give you the extra link you need with out the expense of a $1400 processor.
    This is clearly the best option. You just need a network line to a nearby location for a single link processor. They have a kit with a processor, hybrid repeater and a power supply for $1000. This is far superior to implementing a Radio Ra2 system in parallel with QS.

Similar Threads

  1. Converting Wired QS Shades to Wireless
    By CWilliamsECB in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2017, 04:26 PM
  2. Sivoia QS Wireless and Wired Shades
    By troltgen in forum Design Assistance - Shades
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 09:55 AM
  3. Why is there a limit of 100 zones per RF link and 500 per wired link?
    By SparkyCoog in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2016, 01:10 PM
  4. Adding Triathlon shades to Ra2
    By Connected in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-2014, 04:01 PM
  5. Integrating Sivoia QS wired/wireless shades with HW Illumination
    By Blair S. in forum 3rd-party Integration - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2013, 08:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •