Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  6
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37

Thread: RadioRa2 Select?

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    212
    Oh great, yet another step in the ladder to confuse customers and make our lives harder. It's like Aurora Ra all over again. Does it at least allow customers to reuse their caseta dimmers?

  2. Thanks wkearney99 thanked for this post
    Likes wkearney99 liked this post
  3. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,213
    Quote Originally Posted by rodrigo View Post
    Anyone know yet if it will support any occupancy sensors? That would be only reason I would move to it from my Caseta deployment
    The sensors will not be a part of RA2 Select, and rollback will not be available. All programming is scene based/single action- a la Caseta. Deployment is just as fast as Caseta, with a larger amount of devices (100, 1 main + 4 "aux"). The database will NOT migrate to a main repeater, a full default can be done from the RA2Select main. Then reactivate all devices under a full RA2 main repeater. The "aux" wireless bridges will work under regular RA2. Integration partners are the same as Caseta, while the original RA2 remains the same (sorry, Luketetal!).
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  4. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,213
    Quote Originally Posted by SparkyCoog View Post
    Oh great, yet another step in the ladder to confuse customers and make our lives harder. It's like Aurora Ra all over again. Does it at least allow customers to reuse their caseta dimmers?
    No, and I tried to tell them that was a mistake...
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  5. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    4

    Transition Plan to RA2 Select?

    Quote Originally Posted by SDR-Mike View Post
    No, and I tried to tell them that was a mistake...
    Agreed, a mistake for certain.

    To help customers desiring to transition to Select, are you aware of any changes in the RRD-6CL firmware with Select that would preclude installing them along with Pico remotes (which wouldn't work initially) today, using a loaner main repeater, then replace the loaner repeater with Select when it comes out, activating the pairing of the Pico remotes with desired 6CLs? This would be done to save $ and hit what appears to be the desired sweet spot for RA2 Select. Side note, any insight on actual First Customer Ship date yet?

  6. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,213
    Quote Originally Posted by Costa View Post
    Agreed, a mistake for certain.

    To help customers desiring to transition to Select, are you aware of any changes in the RRD-6CL firmware with Select that would preclude installing them along with Pico remotes (which wouldn't work initially) today, using a loaner main repeater, then replace the loaner repeater with Select when it comes out, activating the pairing of the Pico remotes with desired 6CLs? This would be done to save $ and hit what appears to be the desired sweet spot for RA2 Select. Side note, any insight on actual First Customer Ship date yet?
    You should be able to use the 6CL and existing Picos. Realize you'll have to factory default the dimmers from the loaner repeater to the new Select Main. Sweet spot for a main, 4 button Pico, and five dimmers (using the new 6ND) is just a hair above $1000, compared to the $550-575 for Caseta.

    Rumor was shipping starts at end of September (2017, I hope). As these are based on existing Caseta tech, we should see them landing soon at a distributor near you. Ra Select will NOT be in the mass retail chains.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  7. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Mike, great insight and appreciated. I hope the end of September along with you, I think a slight delay until that time may work to avoid the loaner and subsequent reset (not a big deal on the reset, just something added time wise). Fingers crossed... but either way I now have a plan/path forward.

  8. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,213
    Costa-
    There will be a way to default from the RA Select app that will factory default all the devices in that particular system. Should speed up things, especially if the system starts to get larger.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  9. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    4
    Mike, that's a nice bridge from legacy to next generation. Goodness for expansion into sensors and the like later as well. Appreciate the extra insights!

  10. #19
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by SDR-Mike View Post
    Rumor was shipping starts at end of September (2017, I hope). As these are based on existing Caseta tech, we should see them landing soon at a distributor near you. Ra Select will NOT be in the mass retail chains.
    RA2 select is now shipping and the new Lutron app is available via the App Store or Google Play.

  11. #20
    DIY homeowner here, halfway though my whole-house conversion to RadioRA2... still glad I went with the ďrealĒ version but Iím curious:

    I am trying to make sense of RA2 Select and how much money it really saves. Arenít you just replacing a Main Repeater and a Connect Bridge with the RA2 Select Bridge / Repeater?

    Is this the only difference? Still uses the same (expensive) RA2 dimmers right? If so, it canít be saving more than a few hundred $$, equivalent to the cost of a few dimmers at most. Is this really what people wanted? To save a few hundred $$ on a multi-thousand dollar project? (At the expense of key features like real keypads?)

    Maybe I am confused... (please help!)

  12. Likes Bill13 liked this post
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. RadioRA2 vs HWQS
    By yvonne in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2017, 02:26 PM
  2. From LiteTouch to RadioRA2
    By Dimerize in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-24-2016, 06:39 PM
  3. Add LMJ to RadioRa2 Essentials 9.0
    By BradleyJ in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2016, 11:51 AM
  4. New To RadioRa2 and Homeworks Qs
    By phmartin in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-24-2016, 01:19 PM
  5. QSPS-P1-10-60 with RadioRa2?
    By nobra in forum Design Assistance - Shades
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-30-2015, 12:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •