Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 3-Wire LED Light Fixture

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2

    3-Wire LED Light Fixture

    Hello,

    I'm new here, so I apologize in advanced if my question is not clear.

    I'm designing a HomeWorks QS system and need to confirm the load type and the correct control parts required for the system to work properly.

    I have a LIGHTHEADED downlight fixture that calls for "Lutron 3-Wire (1%)" and I selected the load type as "LED 3-wire". When I'm landing the loads in the modules it automatically adds a "PHPM-3F-120" interface at each output.

    Is there another way around it? Or this is the only way to do it right?

    Am I selecting the wrong load type? I was going to attached the light fixture spec, but couldnt do it.
    The fixture is: LIGHTHEADED L4X-F-RA

    Thank you,

    Miguel.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    418
    There is other ways of doing accomplishing 3 wire dimming with QS. However they will all require more hardware. For example they offer 3 wire RF dimmers but since you already have a RPM panel the PHPM-3F-120 is a better choice


    The real issue here is that the wrong type of driver was selected for the fixture when using this fixture with Lutron Homeworks They do offer 2 wire dimming where it could have been used direct wire to the RPM. The down is the dimming range usually only down to 10% vs 1% on 3 wire or Eco

    I would recommend familiarizing yourself with LED dimming types If these fixtures and Qs were designed as a
    system you may have been able to give a less expensive setup with better control using Lutron Eco. Most likely these fixtures were specified by a designer with no consideration for control and dimming. I understand your pain !! been there and once you get more familiar with LED dimming types it will give you a huge understanding of the LED world where there are no standards and its everyman for himself. LOL

  3. Likes MiguelM liked this post
  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2
    Thank you so much for your prompt response!
    The light fixtures are being provided by the electrical contractor and we had specified a QS system to put the proposal together before the cut sheets were available. I believe there is still time for them to change the fixture specifications.
    It would be a lot easier if we were also providing the fixtures.

  5. Likes mcignarella liked this post
  6. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    721

    Oops

    clicked and responded before realizing I was in a HWQS sub-forum. Sorry!
    Last edited by SDR-Mike; 08-28-2017 at 03:50 PM. Reason: wrong forum
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

Similar Threads

  1. Maestro MS-VPS5M light sensor switch has no neutral (white) wire?
    By wilson328 in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2017, 03:36 PM
  2. Looking for Lutron Venetian Blind 4-wire connector & guide wire part number
    By kaiser_will in forum General Discussion - General Commercial
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2016, 04:51 PM
  3. Maestro Single Pole Fan/Light dimmer Power to the Fixture
    By jtaaustin in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2016, 11:43 AM
  4. Switch for CFL Light Fixture
    By Corey in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-16-2015, 09:42 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2015, 10:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •