Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fan Control using Homekit

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    23

    Fan Control using Homekit

    I am working on designing my first install using the new Connect Bridge 2.

    Are 2ANFs exposed to homekit for control when using the new bridge?

    I’ve searched for an answer or video of a demonstration and haven’t been able to find anything.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    23
    I reached out to Lutron Support about this, and was passed from the "Application Group" to "System Support". They then provided me with a document that I've read previously (google "integrating homekit with ra2" and it's the first from lutron.com), which may indirectly answer my concern about fan control. I just really would like to know if the extent of homekit compatibility stops at lights and shades. If so, lutron missed the mark a little with this integration.

    I guess my best course of action is to experiment with a client's install and not promise anything more than what I can get to work onsite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4
    Did you ever end up testing this out? I'm VERY curious if fan control works through HomeKit in the new RA2 Select systems and if you were able to prove that it works in regular RadioRA 2 then it's possible for RA2 Select as well.

    Thanks in advance!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Did you ever end up testing this out? I'm VERY curious if fan control works through HomeKit in the new RA2 Select systems and if you were able to prove that it works in regular RadioRA 2 then it's possible for RA2 Select as well.

    Thanks in advance!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    23
    Not yet....installing RA2 is going to be one f the last steps in a larger renovation that I am doing for this client. All of the parts are sitting in my warehouse waiting to go in the week of October 16. I’ll post findings shortly thereafter.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4
    I’ve installed 4x of the Radio RA2 Select fan controllers and unfortunately none of them are surfaced in HomeKit. :(

    All 4 work great in the Lutron app but am very disappointed that they are not visible in HomeKit. My understanding is that Lutron has not (yet?) enabled this as HomeKit supports fans.

    Please Lutron... help us out here!! :)

  6. Thanks nicholass817 thanked for this post
  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    23
    I did discover this a couple months ago, and should have posted it. The owner was pretty disappointed. But when given the option between keypads in full RA2 and Homekit control of fans in RA2 Select they opted for the keypads.

    This needs to be fixed.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    993
    I believe this is an issue with all of the voice assistants. Raise/lower are sometimes supported, but not High, or Medium, etc. This poses an issue where none of the voice assistants can properly control the fan. I would be curious to know if setting a scene for "Fan (whatever speed)" and then "Fan Stop" would work. I would use "Fan Stop" as on and off are action words for voice assistants and confuse the little buggers when the scene name contains these words.
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

    "Spread the light, brother" -​Blake Richetta

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    23
    The location services is what was important on this job. They wanted the house to shutdown or startup in part without direct interaction with a device if everyone left. Parents and 3 kids all with iPhones. This can be done with HomeKit. Fans and Televisions were the hangup. I used appliance modules to cut power to TVs, but no love for fans.

Similar Threads

  1. Yes ! HomeKit
    By mcignarella in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-2017, 12:07 AM
  2. Can a Pico control the Hunter HomeKit fan?
    By Sawdust in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-03-2017, 02:33 PM
  3. Cannot add devices on HomeKit App
    By dkata in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-11-2017, 04:02 PM
  4. HomeKit - Add a user
    By boomshaan in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2016, 04:17 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-28-2015, 05:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •