Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Light ramps up and then fades down automatically in a cycle

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3

    Light ramps up and then fades down automatically in a cycle

    Hi, I converted 3 switches into caseta wireless switches. After, 1 of the lights will fade all the way up and then fade all the way down non-stop. This is automatic and I can stop it by pressing the off button. The indicator light on the caseta will follow this and climb and then drop. If I dim it manually I can make it stay at a certain brightness until it reaches the peak at which point it will go into that cycle again of all the way up and then all the way down. The other light seemed to be working but when trying to turn it off, it will stay very dim and then turn on and off in a rhythm. This cannot be stopped (If I remember) so I wound up just shutting off the power completed to that junction box. I have installed many other caseta switches in the home without this issue. Can anyone help me figure out where the source of the issue is? I don't believe this is a fixture issue as I have the same type of fixture somewhere else in the home which works fine. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    https://youtu.be/ipZP8AWWRuA

    Here's a vid of someone with what appears to be similar issue as me he never got a response.

  3. #3
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    378
    It sounds like an incompatibility between the dimmer and the load. I'm assuming this is an LED load. I've seen both issues happen before because of incompatible LEDs. Do you have a manufacturer and model number of the LED?

    If this is a Caseta dimmer, you can find a list of tested and approved LEDs at www.lutron.com/ledfinder.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Brian thanks for your response. I think you are absolutely right. I was scratching my head thinking about it and didn't think I wired anything incorrectly. In any case before you replied I tried changing the bulb out which was cfl. I changed it into a dimmable led and it immediately fixed the issue easy. Didn't think something like a bulb could somehow seem to affect and control the switch. Thanks for your response.

Similar Threads

  1. Cycle Dim Issue
    By Mario in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-2017, 02:02 PM
  2. Why don’t my lights turn on/off automatically like they should?
    By Rob L. in forum Troubleshooting - Quantum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2016, 01:05 PM
  3. Cycle Dim and Integration Programming
    By Armando B. in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2015, 12:23 AM
  4. Automatically dim lights with changing timeclock modes
    By stick151 in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2015, 12:57 PM
  5. LHC+ Level Editing and Cycle Dim
    By Armando B. in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2014, 07:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •