Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Stand alone Switch and Sensor

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    25

    Stand alone Switch and Sensor

    Hello,

    I currently have a Caseta setup in my house, however I don't need the controls for our walk in closet, so I would like to setup a stand alone system that turns the closet light on when there is motion and then off after a period of time.

    Can someone recommend the parts that would be needed in order to accomplish this?

    I thought about adding a smartthings hub, but I would rather not if I don't have to.

    I noticed some folks around here have setup motion sensors as stand alone systems but they didn't mention what they actually used, hence my question.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    25
    Just got off the chat line with Lutron, for those that are interested here is what you would need. I wanted a ceiling mounted motion sensor:

    PD-6ANS with LRF2-OCR2b-P

    To setup:
    Press and hold the bottom button on the wall switch for 6 sec. and then press and hold the light bulb button on the sensor for 6 sec.

    no app needed, standalone only.

  3. #3
    Good to know. I may have to a few things standalone to back of my 50 device issue. But it sounds like if we want to keep Caseta switches on a Lutron hub then a 3rd party hub and sensor are required. So Smartthings is a likely option and any ST compatible sensor . I use the Iris motion sensor.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Blurum View Post
    Good to know. I may have to a few things standalone to back of my 50 device issue. But it sounds like if we want to keep Caseta switches on a Lutron hub then a 3rd party hub and sensor are required. So Smartthings is a likely option and any ST compatible sensor . I use the Iris motion sensor.
    That is what it was sounding like from reading the various threads in this forum and others. I would need to add a second third party hub if I wanted to have it connected. This maybe the case with some other instances that I am thinking about, but for now, this should work out fine given I am only going to be using this for a few of my closets.

Similar Threads

  1. Where to buy Triple Tabletop Stand For less than $80!
    By AJF4ME in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-16-2017, 07:14 PM
  2. LRF2 Vacancy sensor & manual switch usage
    By MisterC in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-07-2017, 08:38 PM
  3. Timer switch paired with remote motion sensor
    By Lukeetal in forum Design Assistance - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2016, 09:55 PM
  4. Pico Compatible with any vacancy or occupancy sensor switch?
    By Felipe in forum Design Assistance - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-2016, 03:16 PM
  5. Solutions for apartment with just stand alone Controls
    By vinhthq in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2015, 09:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •