Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Why does a keypad have load types if it doesn't respect the choice?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    426

    Why does a keypad have load types if it doesn't respect the choice?

    There's a few situations where it'd be handy to have a keypad controlling a non-dimmed load.

    The 11.5 inclusive software supports setting a whole variety of load types for a keypad. One of which is 'Non-dimmed Lighting'. Which you'd think would mean the equivalent of an On/Off switch, right?

    Well, not to the raise lower buttons on the keypad. I have an H6BRL. I set it up with a local load configured as Non-dimmed Lighting. I can go into the Home+ Android app and it correctly sees that load a just a switch. Likewise, elsewhere in the program screens for the button it's seen as just on/off.

    However, the raise/lower buttons are programmed as "Raise last button pressed" or "Lower last button pressed" ignore this. They change the dim level, completely ignoring the load type configured for it.

    I'd imagine this could be a problem if the load does not react well to the voltage being dimmed this way, possibly dangerously so.

    Tangentially, I notice the R/L buttons now have a double-tap feature?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    353
    pretty sure Lutron is just going to tell you that you cannot connect a switched load directly to a hybrid keypad. You need to put a power booster in-between the hybrid dimmed output and the load.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    426
    Which would still have a problem due to the dimmer cutting the voltage, no?

    Seems like the firmware in the keypad ought to be able to understand not to dim the connected load if it's configured that way.

Similar Threads

  1. Load choice selection for mains dimming LED
    By jimathome in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2016, 08:08 AM
  2. MLV Load types/values
    By joshg in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2016, 03:54 PM
  3. Can I use a H6BRL as keypad, whitout load atached or programmed?
    By lleo_ in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-05-2016, 07:48 PM
  4. Crestron RadioRa2 Keypad Monitor feedback doesn't work
    By EricW in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2015, 06:54 PM
  5. Button Types Explained
    By Armando B. in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-2013, 05:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •