Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Can dimming limits be set?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    10

    Can dimming limits be set?

    I am trying to find a led downlight with good performance with RR2. Every downlight I have tested fits one of two profiles:
    1) When the dimmer is all the way down the light only goes down to about 40% brightness. It turns on and off instantly.
    2) The LED can get very dim with the dimmer, but if you turn the dimmer all the way down the light will turn off. If you turn the lights off with the led very dim then turn the lights back on, it can take a long time before you see any light. And in some cases the lights will not come back on at a super-low level.

    I like #2 better because the dimming range is greater, but the problem is that if you dim too low the lights will shut prematurely shut off. I am wondering if RR2 has a way to programmatically limit the dimming so that you can prevent dimming below a certain level. For example if you want to set the lower limit at 15% then none of the dimmers will go below 15% when you turn them all the way down. In other words the dimming range would be 15%-100% instead of 0% - 100%.

    I'm using arbitrary numbers so ignore them. I just want to know if I can keep the dimmers from going too low.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    4
    Try adjusting the low-end trim.
    From the device, enter "advanced programming mode" refer to application note #247
    Or in the Ra software, from the menu bar: Tools > Verify Low End

    Enjoy!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    10
    Thank you but I only have one RR2 dimmer for testing purposes. I'm trying to decide whether to go through with this RR2 install or if I should start looking at other lighting control systems. Unfortunately, I've wired entire house's lighting to a central location so my options may be limited.

    I don't have a RR2 controller or any software to play with, just the one dimmer. So I need someone to tell me if what I want to do is possible. Of course I won't be able to limit dimming with the limited hardware I have, I just need a concrete answer on if it is possible.

  4. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    164
    Hello uscpsycho, It will depend on the RadioRA 2 dimmer you are using. If it supports adjusting the low end trim manually, it would be the same procedure that can be found on step 7 of the MACL-153M installation guide.

    http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...h_a_dimmer.pdf

Similar Threads

  1. Dimming a <25W LED?
    By cliqk_h in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2016, 08:56 AM
  2. Setting Dimmer Upper Limits
    By mikerpalmer in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2015, 05:46 PM
  3. Adjusting serena shades lower and upper limits
    By TheVince in forum Troubleshooting - Shades
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2015, 11:46 AM
  4. QS - processor offline operation and device limits
    By totesthouse in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2014, 08:31 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-25-2013, 07:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •