Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Caseta PD-6WCL wiring question

Caseta PD-6WCL wiring question

Hi,

Newbie here. I have a wiring problem and would appreciate any help.

I'm trying to replace my current light switch with a Caseta dimmer (PD-6WCL). In the switch box, I have one romex cable coming in and that's it. There's one black, one white and a ground wire. Right now, the black is connect to one of the brass terminal on my old switch. The white is connect to the other brass terminal. And ground to ground. How would I wire the new Caseta in this case? It seems strange. How does it work if I only have one cable coming into the box.

The other 2 switches I replaced has 2 romex cables coming into the box. For those I just followed the instructions and it all works.

Thanks for any assistance.

Black should be incoming power, white outgoing. I believe it may not matter in this case.
    Simple automation when DIY isn't working
    intuitivehomecontrols@gmail.com
    fb.me/intuitivehomecontrols

Same issue

Quote Originally Posted by niagarafalls View Post
    Hi,

Newbie here. I have a wiring problem and would appreciate any help.

I'm trying to replace my current light switch with a Caseta dimmer (PD-6WCL). In the switch box, I have one romex cable coming in and that's it. There's one black, one white and a ground wire. Right now, the black is connect to one of the brass terminal on my old switch. The white is connect to the other brass terminal. And ground to ground. How would I wire the new Caseta in this case? It seems strange. How does it work if I only have one cable coming into the box.

The other 2 switches I replaced has 2 romex cables coming into the box. For those I just followed the instructions and it all works.

Thanks for any assistance.