Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Switch Operation is Reversed

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    1

    Switch Operation is Reversed

    I just purchased and installed a LUTRON TGCL-153PH-WH Toggler Dimmer Switch for LED, Incandescent and halogen bulbs, White. The switch and dimmer work fine but the operation of the switch is reversed. With the switch mounted in the upright position:

    - Moving the switch lever to the up position turns the lights off
    - Moving the switch lever to the down position turns the lights on

    The operation of the dimmer is correct - in that position, moving the dimmer slider up brightens the lights, down dims the lights

    The operation of the switch is reversed from what it should be. How do I correct this problem? If I mount the switch upside-down, the switch will work properly but then the dimmer slider will be reversed.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    181
    Hello chuckc3, This is a very simple fix. What you need to do is take the wire that is attached to the brass screw above the copper screw, and move it to the brass screw on the opposite side of the copper screw.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2

    Same problem. I didn't understand the instruction though.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jai H. View Post
    Hello chuckc3, This is a very simple fix. What you need to do is take the wire that is attached to the brass screw above the copper screw, and move it to the brass screw on the opposite side of the copper screw.
    I have a single pole switch and I'm replacing an older Lutron dimmer (that caused flickering with my LEDs) with a newer TGCL-153PH-WH.

    In the electrical box are a ground wire and two black wires. I wasn't sure what to do with the green wire on the new Lutron unit, so I attached it and the ground wire from the electrical box to the ground on the Lutron unit. I plugged in the black wires in the holes where they were on the old unit. The light worked and dimmed great but--as with this person--the switch worked in reverse (up for off/down for on.) So, I cut the power and switched places for the two black wires. Is that what you meant? Swap places for the two black wires?

    The problem is that when I turned on the power again, the light was on. Then, when I turned the switch OFF, the Lutron unit made a loud POP! and then it would not work at all. I cut the power and put the old unit back and that works.

  4. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by Allen View Post
    I have a single pole switch and I'm replacing an older Lutron dimmer (that caused flickering with my LEDs) with a newer TGCL-153PH-WH.

    In the electrical box are a ground wire and two black wires. I wasn't sure what to do with the green wire on the new Lutron unit, so I attached it and the ground wire from the electrical box to the ground on the Lutron unit. I plugged in the black wires in the holes where they were on the old unit. The light worked and dimmed great but--as with this person--the switch worked in reverse (up for off/down for on.) So, I cut the power and switched places for the two black wires. Is that what you meant? Swap places for the two black wires?

    The problem is that when I turned on the power again, the light was on. Then, when I turned the switch OFF, the Lutron unit made a loud POP! and then it would not work at all. I cut the power and put the old unit back and that works.
    Hello Allen, you are correct with putting the green wire on the dimmer with the bare copper wire in your wallbox. Swapping the black wires would not have solved the problem, but it shouldn't have damaged the dimmer either. What you should have done was left the wire that was plugged in near the copper screw where it was, and moved the wire that was plugged in near the brass screw and plug it in near the other brass screw on the opposite side.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2

    Red face I wired it wrong. I bought a new one and it works perfectly.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jai H. View Post
    Hello Allen, you are correct with putting the green wire on the dimmer with the bare copper wire in your wallbox. Swapping the black wires would not have solved the problem, but it shouldn't have damaged the dimmer either. What you should have done was left the wire that was plugged in near the copper screw where it was, and moved the wire that was plugged in near the brass screw and plug it in near the other brass screw on the opposite side.
    My mistake was that I put the wires in the same 'locations' as was on the old Lutron dimmer that I was replacing--in the same pattern. Therefore, I wired the house ground from the box to the post where GROUND was on the old switch (on the new one, this is the side where there is just one screw) and put the two black wires on the other two screws (where they were on the old switch.) Not knowing where the green wire should go, I wired it to what I incorrectly assumed was the ground. This worked but the switch was upside down. When I tried swapping the black wires around: POP! :-) It fried something inside the new Lutron.

    I bought a new one, wired it according to the directions rather than trying to wire it in the same 'pattern' as the old one. Works fine.

    Let this be a lesson to me! ;-)

  6. #6
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by Allen View Post
    My mistake was that I put the wires in the same 'locations' as was on the old Lutron dimmer that I was replacing--in the same pattern. Therefore, I wired the house ground from the box to the post where GROUND was on the old switch (on the new one, this is the side where there is just one screw) and put the two black wires on the other two screws (where they were on the old switch.) Not knowing where the green wire should go, I wired it to what I incorrectly assumed was the ground. This worked but the switch was upside down. When I tried swapping the black wires around: POP! :-) It fried something inside the new Lutron.

    I bought a new one, wired it according to the directions rather than trying to wire it in the same 'pattern' as the old one. Works fine.

    Let this be a lesson to me! ;-)
    Great! We are glad that you got the new one to work.

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring Question - Replacing a Toggle Switch with a RRD-8ANS-SW switch
    By pglover19 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-17-2017, 09:08 PM
  2. System Operation/Limitation Questions
    By ekimla in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-08-2016, 04:34 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2015, 03:54 PM
  4. QS - processor offline operation and device limits
    By totesthouse in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2014, 09:31 PM
  5. Sequence of Operation for HVAC controller
    By Iknowmorethanyou in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2013, 09:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •