Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Connecting to Main repeater with more than a connect bridge on same network/switch

  1. #1

    Connecting to Main repeater with more than a connect bridge on same network/switch

    This weekend I got around to setting up the new connect bridge for my own house and I'm reminded what a pain it is to deal with this constant issue of finding main repeaters/connect bridges. My home network consists of a 24 port switch with a ubiquiti edgerouter. Couple of computers and APs on the network and 1/8 times I'll connect and transfer if I'm lucky. I just think it's a ridiculous that in the 21st century of IoT I have to carry a "small" router that I setup and match customers/mine gateways IP ranges etc. a little rant here but has anyone had any luck setting the bridge and main re. on a VLAN successfully? I haven't tried but am wondering if it will cause communication issues from the outside when I try to use Siri/connect app for making a change while away from home. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    644
    What version of the software are you using? There is a thread in the RA2 section where someone logged in, found, and transferred via the 11.0 quite quickly. I have yet to switch. May try an update and have better luck, and I feel your pain.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  3. Likes dvpvic liked this post
  4. #3
    The newest version. 11.0 main rep. Updated as well. When I use the single router with just my laptop and the main rep/bridge then it doesn't even stutter. It's only when it's on a local network that it has issues. That's why I was thinking VLAN but I'm not sure how the whole thing with the bridge and outside communication will go.

Similar Threads

  1. New Connect Bridge Not Connecting
    By schalliol in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-17-2017, 10:31 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2017, 05:55 PM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-13-2016, 12:44 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2016, 12:42 PM
  5. Main Repeater and connect bridge 5 devices?
    By Lukeetal in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2016, 03:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •