Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: RadioRA2 or Caseta for condo automation ?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2

    RadioRA2 or Caseta for condo automation ?

    I am very much interested in RadioRA2 system so I could automate my apartment lighting, as well as integrate into various systems I have... however, it looks like Caseta might be more compatible with various systems... so need some help deciding which system to get, and IF I could use RadioRA2 keypads/dimmers on Caseta system as I like their looks and function WAY BETTER!

    Here are my needs:
    - 2 Keypads (one at entry, one in living room) to control lights all on/off, plus mood settings
    - 4 Dimmers, 3 magnetic, 1 electronic transformer control
    - 2-3 plug-in controls (table lamps, etc...)
    - 4 on/off switches
    - 2 roller shaded (future setup)
    - Integrate into Nest
    - Control Sonos
    - Control by Harmony Remote (integrate to home audio)
    - Potentially integrate into SmartThings
    - Integrate into HomeKit
    - ALL controlled via ONE APP [iPad]
    - Give me conditional programming --> unrelated to RA2, but I want a system that could do this

    Now, problem with RA2 seems to be, that it cannot be controlled by Harmony, or SmartThings, and that it's more of a complex setup than Caseta that has even more capabilities.

    Questions:
    - Can I somehow use Harmony Remote for RA2?
    - Is there SmartThings integration in RA2?
    - Could any of the RA2 keypads be used with Caseta?
    - Could RA2 dimmers be used with Caseta?
    - Is it even worth the extra investment to go with RA2 for such a small setup?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    26
    No, you can't use RadioRa2 dimmers/switches/keypads with Caseta. And yes, I would agree that for a small sytem Caseta is the better way to go. There are ways to use a Harmony, but not SmartThings (as yet - perhaps it's coming - Lutron has tended to roll things out to Caseta first, but my gut is that SmartThings is unlikely to come to RadioRa2).

Similar Threads

  1. Outdoor light automation with Caseta (or other Lutron offering)?
    By dsmiami in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2017, 08:15 PM
  2. Using both Caseta and RadioRA2 at same time
    By amrogers3 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2016, 09:09 PM
  3. RadioRA2 (and QS & Caseta) native Alexa
    By tonyworthington in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-21-2016, 01:37 PM
  4. Can Caseta thermostat be used with RadioRa2?
    By nobra in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-21-2016, 02:57 PM
  5. Caseta Thermostat works with RadioRa2?
    By nobra in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2016, 02:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •