Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Noob Question on First setup/usage/support/capabilities

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3

    Noob Question on First setup/usage/support/capabilities

    Hi All, I looked for a similar post before posting. Sorry i I missed one.

    New to product and haven't purchased yet. The Need results from me not having a wired wall switch for a bank of LED lights.

    I was looking at the following:

    2 of the Caséta Wireless plug-in lamp dimmers

    1 Caseta Wireless switch or dimmer


    My Question is pre-purchase so I don't purchase wrong thing, again.

    Can I set the one Switch or Dimmer to operate both Plug-in lamp dimmers?

    I can't find anything on this and the help at Home Depot wasn't much help at all.


    1. I would love for the switch to not need to be hardwired but can if needed as long as it doesn't need a 4th neutral like so many other switches. I will be removing the current switch that only operates 1/2 the room.
    2. I would love for the switch to operate both lamp dimmers.
    3. I would love for the switch to be able to dim the lights.


    If this works well I have another room without any switches in it that I would like to set up with a wireless wall switch.

    Thanks for any help while I venture into this new-to-me field.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3
    Is this forum still active?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    113
    Not 100% sure I follow, but will try and help.

    If you want to control 2 sets of lights (with a standard cord and 2 prong plug) You can do it with one lamp dimmer. (if the cord can reach on outlet)
    If they are far apart you will need 2 lamp dimmers.
    Both lamp dimmers can be controlled by what is called a Pico remote. (most of the time you get a lamp dimmer and 1 pico remote)
    The Pico remote can be wall mounted with an adaptor to either mount in an electrical box, or surface mounted to the wall. (whats great is the pico looks just like a switch)

    If I get you right, you just want to control the 2 lamp dimmers that currently do not have a switch. In which case you will be using the pico remote and will NOT need a dimmer switch. (the dimmer switch cannot directly control the lamp dimmers anyway.

    Hope that helps, ask if you need anything else.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    113
    Lamp dimmer with pico remote. (if you buy 2, you will have 2 pico remotes. one can be wall mounted, one can be left on a table.)
    http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lutron-Ca...WH-R/206792507

    Wall mount for the pico
    http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lutron-Ca...-205071775-_-N

    Table pico holder.
    http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lutron-Ca...1-WH/204718235

    And If you decide you want to control the lights from your phone or outside the house.
    http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lutron-Ca...2-WH/206148281
    or
    http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lutron-Ca...KG1P/300492910

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Sawdust View Post
    Not 100% sure I follow, but will try and help.

    If you want to control 2 sets of lights (with a standard cord and 2 prong plug) You can do it with one lamp dimmer. (if the cord can reach on outlet)
    If they are far apart you will need 2 lamp dimmers.
    Both lamp dimmers can be controlled by what is called a Pico remote. (most of the time you get a lamp dimmer and 1 pico remote)
    The Pico remote can be wall mounted with an adaptor to either mount in an electrical box, or surface mounted to the wall. (whats great is the pico looks just like a switch)

    If I get you right, you just want to control the 2 lamp dimmers that currently do not have a switch. In which case you will be using the pico remote and will NOT need a dimmer switch. (the dimmer switch cannot directly control the lamp dimmers anyway.

    Hope that helps, ask if you need anything else.
    exactly what I was asking and looking for! Appreciate it and thanks for the links too! I had this all in my hand at HD but they couldn't answer my questions.

Similar Threads

  1. L-BDG-WH vs. L-BDG2-WH Capabilities?
    By MAlvis in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-06-2016, 08:50 AM
  2. Questions From Caseta Noob Putting Together New Setup
    By Wildcat_1 in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2015, 12:01 PM
  3. Programming logic capabilities of SB/SBP
    By asherrick in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-25-2015, 10:58 AM
  4. What do I need noob
    By Seanie_230 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2015, 04:00 PM
  5. New user--basic setup question
    By tb001 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-22-2014, 04:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •