Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Radio RA works with Alexa...but now RF remote interference

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4

    Radio RA works with Alexa...but now RF remote interference

    I have happily used my Radio RA classic system for years with an AMX system with the RS-232 controller. Not wanting to leave well enough alone and a tinkerer, I figured I could pickup a RA-IR box , connect it to my harmony hub and have Alexa control my lights. Good news is it works. Harmony and alexa control radio ra classic. The IR codes are in the Harmony database.

    However something changed during programming...I never had issues with my directv RF remotes or my RF IR remote extenders but after I added the lutron IR controller to my repeater my RF remotes have gone haywire. Reduced range, multiple phantom button presses. I mean 3 receivers with multiple rf remotes. And it started after I added the IR controller. Now I did play with the toggle vs. Single action scene setting on the Lutron IR controller setup. However I did not purposely do anything else. Just link to repeater and programmed a few scenes.

    Now since I can unplug the IR and rs232 controller and repeater and I still have the issue, it seems the interference is from the Light switches themselves?

    Did I somehow change the frequency? Does adding the IR controller switch them to 2 way or something?

    I think my RF extender runs at 433MHZ as does the DirecTV RF remotes I believe. I thought radiora was 418MHZ. Could it be the lutron programming I did?

    Any help appreciated. I know it is an old aystem...but it still works. And I thought the Harmony and alexa integration was pretty cool but don't want this issue.

    Thanks,
    BJBBJB

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4
    Sorry I could not edit post in time. I have verified it is my lutron system.

    I don't know why I didn't think of this but I not only unplugged the repeater and 2 control boxes but turned each switch off. That stopped the interference with my remotes. And progressively stopped it as I turned them off...and it came back as I turned them on. So the question is what did I do to cause a change to the RF switch traffic or frequency by adding the RA-IR, activating it with my repeater, programming a few scenes on it, and playing with toggle?

    And what changed how the switches behave? When they know they are talking to work controllers do they ramp up their Power?

    Thanks for any help,
    BJBBJB

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    545
    It is not possible to change the frequency. It is highly unlikely that the programming you did has any effect.

    RA switches only broadcast for 6 seconds. If they are continuously broadcasting, something else is triggering it.

    Did you happen to install any LEDs? Cheap drivers can emit noise that can drive electronics mad.
    Element Integration
    5621-122 Departure Drive
    Raleigh, NC 27616
    www.elementintegration.com

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks. I changed out a lutron radio RA dimmer switch that was not working and the strange RF behavior ceased. It has been months and hopefully that doesn't happen again!

    I was never informed of the RA upgrade program and it is over. But my integration of Alexa with a Harmony hub and a Lutron IR receiver has allowed me to extend the life of this gen 1 system,

    BJBBJB

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1

    Radio Ra codes in Harmony Elite Database.

    BJBBJBB,

    In your post you indicate that the codes for the Radio Ra are in the Harmony database.

    I have a client who has a first generation Radio Ra...what method did you use to program the Hub?

    I was using an android tablet wireless connection for the other components of my system, but when I try home control...Lutron it takes me right to the Lutron log in the site.

    Anyway...if you could lead me in the right direction for programming, I would be very appreciative. Thank you.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4
    DougD,

    I would be glad to help. You need to do all the programming of the Lutron RA-IR per the usual Lutron scene process. Note if you have a serial Lutron module, you still also need the IR one and have to program it from scratch.

    Then I wired an IR blaster from the Harmony Hub to the RA-IR device.

    Finally for the Harmony hub,I setup a new piece of equipment by searching the IR database for "Lutron RadioRA. Ignore the prompts that you can control the device over the network or something. You cannot, just IR. If you are having issues on the tablet Harmony software you can do the initial setup on the PC software. Thats how I did it and it symcs to the hub and tablet.

    Once the equipment is setup, you can trigger IR codes for Lutron scenes via activities in the Harmony programming. Or just access the scenes from the equipmemt page.

    There are some challenges with the Harmony on and off logic but you can work through that.

    Hope that helps.

    BJBBJB

Similar Threads

  1. Everything works except white
    By anthony-b in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2017, 11:16 AM
  2. C*L Digital Dimmer MACL153MR interference with 1.9 GHz Cordless phone
    By TxWood in forum Performance Issues - LED
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2016, 11:55 AM
  3. 2.4gHz interference? with motion sensors?
    By wkearney99 in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2016, 03:05 PM
  4. Frequency Interference from Caseta?
    By kenbo in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2015, 06:50 PM
  5. Universal Remote Control Dimmers and conversion to Radio Ra 2?
    By tonydutt in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2014, 09:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •