Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can't get Lutron Shades to Open With Echo

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3

    Can't get Lutron Shades to Open With Echo

    I have Lutron Shades with a Caséta Bridge. I set up my Echo yesterday, downloaded the app, connected it to the Lutron app and it works fine when I tell Alexa to close the shades. Actually the command is "Watch TV" which I previously set up in my Lutron App. When I say the commend, Echo closes the shades. But the Echo will not open the shades no matter what I do. I even tried changing the action called "Watching TV" to the open action in the Lutron app and re-searching for skills in Echo. When I use the same command to open instead of close the shades it still does not work. Alexa responds "I'm not quite sure how to help you with that." I cannot fathom why it works to close them but not to open them. I have tried changing the commend over and over so I thing Alexa is getting what I am saying. It just can't seem to do it. Any help appreciated.

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by foresite View Post
    I have Lutron Shades with a Caséta Bridge. I set up my Echo yesterday, downloaded the app, connected it to the Lutron app and it works fine when I tell Alexa to close the shades. Actually the command is "Watch TV" which I previously set up in my Lutron App. When I say the commend, Echo closes the shades. But the Echo will not open the shades no matter what I do. I even tried changing the action called "Watching TV" to the open action in the Lutron app and re-searching for skills in Echo. When I use the same command to open instead of close the shades it still does not work. Alexa responds "I'm not quite sure how to help you with that." I cannot fathom why it works to close them but not to open them. I have tried changing the commend over and over so I thing Alexa is getting what I am saying. It just can't seem to do it. Any help appreciated.

    Just installed my first Serena shade today. Seems that the Alexa integration does not have direct device control like it does with lights, but only scene control (like SONOS). Perhaps Lutron support can weigh in.
    So I set up 2 Caseta scenes and had Alexa do Discover Devices :
    1) Bedroom Shades open
    2)Bedroom shades closed.
    To invoke the action I say "Alex Turn on *scene name*. so even for the closed scene I have to say "Turn on Bedroom shades closed".
    so voice works works as long as I use the "Turn On" command for the open and closed scene. Essentially telling Alexa to invoke a scene, regardless of shade state. Which means I cannot tell it to open shades 30% - unless I create preset scenes with partial openings.

    If anyone has a simpler way I am all ears.
    Last edited by Blurum; 03-27-2017 at 09:32 PM. Reason: typo

  3. Thanks foresite thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3
    Yes. That's what it is. I did not realize that I had to say "Turn On" first. I just kept saying "Open Shades" which was my scene name. When I say "Turn On Open Shades" is works. Thanks that did it.

Similar Threads

  1. Amazon Alexa Echo Stopped Working with Lutron
    By sixpak in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2017, 08:28 PM
  2. Amazon Echo Connection to Lutron - How to
    By jnapier in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-03-2016, 03:29 PM
  3. Open Stop Close Stop with Maintained CCO shades
    By Armando B. in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-01-2015, 12:38 PM
  4. Open Stop Close Stop with pulsed CCO shades.
    By Armando B. in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2014, 11:04 AM
  5. Open outputs on Lutron QS dimmers and relay modules
    By etienneterblanche in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-2014, 02:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •