Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Time/Occupancy based dim percentages

Question Time/Occupancy based dim percentages

Hi all! I'm new to RA2 and I wanted to know if the following case is possible:

• Occupancy sensor in bathroom with RRD-6CL Dimmer
      • Between 1AM and 7AM, if bathroom is occupied, lights will automatically dim on to 25%.
      • All other times, if bathroom is occupied, lights will turn on to 100%.

Thanks in advance for your help.

No it is not possible. This is where you would be going to HWQS to get conditional logic like this. I wish it was an option though. Many have mentioned but before but I don't think it to ever happen. You can use a 3rd party like homeseer or setup that up through Elk m1 security panel or Omni pro.

Actually, this is very doable in RadioRa, but it's a pain and a little bit more expensive than it should be. It works like this:

- The room has TWO occupancy/vacancy sensors. Let's call them Oc-Sensor1 and Oc-Sensor2.
    - Since RadioRa software will automatically group occupancy sensors in the same room (which we don't want in this case), you have to fool the software by making two "rooms" in the software: MasterBath1 and MasterBath2.

So - in Design module:
    • put Oc-Sensor1 in "room" MasterBath1, Oc-Sensor2 in "room" MasterBath2.
    • You can put your RRD-6CL dimmer in either MasterBath1 or MasterBath2.

In "Program" module:
    • Set a timeclock event at 1am to ENABLE Oc-Sensor1 and DISABLE Oc-Sensor2
    • Set another timeclock event to reverse it: at 7am ENABLE Oc-Sensor2 and DISABLE Oc-Sensor1
    • Set Oc-Sensor1 to set that RRD-6CL to 25% brightness on Occupied, 0% on vacant
    • Set Oc-Sensor2 to set that RRD-6CL to 100% brightness on Occupied, 0% on vacant

Voila - hack workaround for time-based dim levels. It sucks that the ceiling will have TWO ugly occupancy sensors instead of 1 because of the limitations of the software, but this will work exactly as you requested.