Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Maestro MS-VPS5M light sensor switch has no neutral (white) wire?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1

    Maestro MS-VPS5M light sensor switch has no neutral (white) wire?

    Hello, I am trying to replace an existing light sensor switch in my bathroom that controls my bathroom lights as well as a fan light.

    My existing switch has 1 black, 1 red and 1 red wire. The red wire is connected to my 2nd black wire that is coming out of the wall.

    The Lutron Maestro MS-VPS5M switch I bought has 2 blacks, 1 blue and 1 green wire.

    So I would assume that the 2 black wires would obviously connect to the existing 2 black wires that are coming out of my wall. The blue wire I assume is not needed and can be capped off. Green is ground. But what do I do with the white (Neutral) wire that is coming out of my wall?? There is no neutral wire connection on the new Lutron switch. Is the neutral wire not needed? Do I simply hook everything up and just cap off the neutral wire coming out of my wall? What is the impact of not having a neutral wire connection? Should I buy a light switch that does have a connection for neutral?

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    98
    Hello Wilson,

    You can simply cap off the neutral connection. That control does not require a neutral connection.

Similar Threads

  1. Occupancy Sensor MS-VPS5M - troubleshooting sensitivity setting
    By deecee110 in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2016, 06:27 PM
  2. Caseta offer fan/light switch combo like maestro?
    By chachdog in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:45 AM
  3. two wire switch no ground no neutral wires UMS-OPS6M-DV-WH
    By dfphoto in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2014, 02:10 PM
  4. Hybrid Keypad Neutral wire (When use it)?
    By Fabio Bortolin in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-13-2014, 03:18 PM
  5. RRD6NA and RRD10ND not activating as neutral wire dimmers
    By SDR-Mike in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-2013, 08:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •