Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  4
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Four lamps, one living room

Four lamps, one living room

Hi. I'm a total newbie to the idea of WiFi controlled lighting.

We living in a 1920's period American Foursquare. I want to light the living room by hanging four dimmable LED pendant Edison light bulbs in a large square about 2/3rds the size of the entire ceiling. I have attached a PNG image.

#1 in the PNG. I assume the most cost-effective and wattage-compliant way to do this is to put in two smart outlets, one on each side of the LR and run two rope cords out of each and over to two of the four bulbs. If so, will one SmartBridge control all four lights (via two smart outlets) simultaneously so that one dimming operation dims all four lights via the two outlets? If so, is it correct to assume that the maximum wattage of each LED Edison bulb will be 50 watts?

#2 in the PNG. Alternately, could I use a single smart outlet, using both of the plugs, and wire them as shown to control the four lights in a single dimming operation? If so, is it correct to assume that, this way, the maximum wattage per LED Edison bulb will be 25 watts?

Thank your for your kind help.

Glenn
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 10.28.23 PM.png  

To be clear are you planning on using a hardwired switch or the plug in lamp module?

Either way most leds only range from 6-13w. So that will not be an issue.

3. Likes Zach R. liked this post
    Have you seen those bulbs in person? I've got incandescent Edison-style on an outdoor fireplace and the glowing-ember effect of the filaments is nice. I tried one no-name brand of LED equivalents and it was nothing like the real thing.

Fixtures like that aren't typically done with plugs. They're hard-wired into junction boxes and use a wall switch to control them. Dangling things from cords is not something most firemen appreciate when they have to rescue someone from a burning house.