Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Integrating with RF

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16

    Integrating with RF

    Does anyone have any experience integrating directly with RadioRA2 via RF (instead of rs232 or telnet)? I'm trying to work around some issues with lag with the published integration protocol, and my only remaining idea is to listen in on the RF frequency. If anyone has any pointers to get me started, it would be much appreciated.

    Honestly, I'm somewhat hopeful that this isn't really possible. I'd hate to have someone broadcast a drive-by scene change from outside the house. But I have this suspicion it's all clear-text.

    I should add that this isn't an important project, I'm just having fun doing deep integration on my new home automation. I'd almost prefer to have an excuse to learn how RF receivers work :)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    666
    Quote Originally Posted by spherex View Post
    Does anyone have any experience integrating directly with RadioRA2 via RF (instead of rs232 or telnet)? I'm trying to work around some issues with lag with the published integration protocol, and my only remaining idea is to listen in on the RF frequency. If anyone has any pointers to get me started, it would be much appreciated.

    Honestly, I'm somewhat hopeful that this isn't really possible. I'd hate to have someone broadcast a drive-by scene change from outside the house. But I have this suspicion it's all clear-text.

    I should add that this isn't an important project, I'm just having fun doing deep integration on my new home automation. I'd almost prefer to have an excuse to learn how RF receivers work :)
    You should be able to see the transmissions on a 433.4 MhZ band, but direct integration would be nearly impossible as the protocol is proprietary.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    You should be able to see the transmissions on a 433.4 MhZ band, but direct integration would be nearly impossible as the protocol is proprietary.
    Out of curiosity, where did you get that the band is 433.4 MHz? Their whitepaper says 434 MHz, but another site says it's 433.6 MHz.

    https://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocu...whitepaper.pdf
    https://hackaday.io/project/2291-int...less-interface

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    666
    It's a number that Lutron engineers probably told me. 434MHz is the median of the range used for North America. It could very well be 433.6.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  5. #5
    Can you explain what is the issue with the telnet, I'm using it and it is quick and reliable.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by donmor View Post
    Can you explain what is the issue with the telnet, I'm using it and it is quick and reliable.
    It turned out to not be an issue with telnet but with keypad presses. They're very slow to report over either telnet or RS-232. Makes it near impossible to build responsive integration that reacts to keypads.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by spherex View Post
    Does anyone have any experience integrating directly with RadioRA2 via RF (instead of rs232 or telnet)? I'm trying to work around some issues with lag with the published integration protocol, and my only remaining idea is to listen in on the RF frequency. If anyone has any pointers to get me started, it would be much appreciated.

    Honestly, I'm somewhat hopeful that this isn't really possible. I'd hate to have someone broadcast a drive-by scene change from outside the house. But I have this suspicion it's all clear-text.

    I should add that this isn't an important project, I'm just having fun doing deep integration on my new home automation. I'd almost prefer to have an excuse to learn how RF receivers work :)
    I would love to know this too!
    RadioRa2 PSP Level 2 Platiunum
    Caseta "Pro" Installer
    My Systems:
    RadioRa2 with QS Shades, Sonos, Harmony, Nest, Alexa and HomeKit
    Caseta with Harmony, HomeKit, Nest, QS shades, and Alexa.

Similar Threads

  1. Integrating With URC MX880i
    By Debbie in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-15-2015, 03:37 PM
  2. Integrating Radio Powr Savr sensors into RadioRA 2
    By Corey in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2015, 04:21 PM
  3. Integrating Sivoia QS wired/wireless shades with HW Illumination
    By Blair S. in forum 3rd-party Integration - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2013, 07:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •