Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Which System Configuration Will Work for Me?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    1

    Which System Configuration Will Work for Me?

    I have a single-bulb lamp plugged into an outlet controlled by a 3-way switch in my living room. I want to be able to dim the light in the room as well as control the light via smartphone when I'm not home for security purposes. Since the lamp plugs into an outlet controlled only by the two switches (and its the only thing plugged into the outlet) can I use the Casetta 600W In-Wall Dimmer with a pico remote (to replace the other switch) and a smart hub to complete the system? Or do I need a smart hub, two pico remotes (which I would mount), and the plug-in wall dimmer for the lamp?

    This is probably a silly question but I just want to be sure I am purchasing the correct equipment for my needs and purposes.

    Thanks for your time.

  2. #2
    The in-Wall Dimmer and pico remote setup will work fine for you.

  3. #3
    As davisadm said the wall dimmer pico and hub will work for you. You should check out this video as you will have to modify the wiring in the location with the Pico to get everything to work. https://youtu.be/rBhRWNtQki0

    Quote Originally Posted by nickr06 View Post
    I have a single-bulb lamp plugged into an outlet controlled by a 3-way switch in my living room. I want to be able to dim the light in the room as well as control the light via smartphone when I'm not home for security purposes. Since the lamp plugs into an outlet controlled only by the two switches (and its the only thing plugged into the outlet) can I use the Casetta 600W In-Wall Dimmer with a pico remote (to replace the other switch) and a smart hub to complete the system? Or do I need a smart hub, two pico remotes (which I would mount), and the plug-in wall dimmer for the lamp?

    This is probably a silly question but I just want to be sure I am purchasing the correct equipment for my needs and purposes.

    Thanks for your time.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1
    I'm not an electrician, but I believe that I read on another thread that it's against code to control an outlet with a dimmer. Just my 2 cents...

Similar Threads

  1. Integration Configuration (ID's)
    By GLDCSTAV in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2016, 06:28 PM
  2. Grafik Eye QS Configuration
    By Joe M. in forum Programming - General Commercial
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-02-2016, 04:06 PM
  3. PD-6ANS flickering on a 4 way configuration
    By rmontanez in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2016, 08:01 AM
  4. Copy configuration from one bridge to another
    By Cherga in forum Programming - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2015, 11:51 AM
  5. Will Lutron app & Caseta system work with a router but no internet?
    By tun6twista in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2015, 03:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •