Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Set-up for upgrading from Smart Bridge to Smart Bridge Pro?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    2

    Set-up for upgrading from Smart Bridge to Smart Bridge Pro?

    I've got a Smart Bridge and upgrading to a Smart Bridge Pro. I've already got about 20 devices set-up on the existing Smart Bridge. What do I need to do minimize the hassle of the transition?

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    112
    1.) Connect the old bridge and sign-in
    2.) Delete all the devices associated to the bridge by going to Lights & Shades>More>Edit>Select the device>chose Delete Device
    3.) Go to Settings>Account>Remove Account
    4.) This will remove the account from the bridge and also send a message to the server to disassociate the account and the old bridge
    5.) Plug-in the new bridge and in the Caseta app select "Get Started"
    6.) Select "Create new account" and then you should be able to enter you old email address since it has been removed from your old bridge.
    7.) The app should then start the normal setup flow procedure
    8.) Sometimes there will be cached data that makes it look like there are 2 bridges on the network
    9.) If this happens be sure to select the MAC address of the new bridge

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for the steps. I have 25 devices currently. Is there any way to not have to reconfigure/rename ALL of them to upgrade to the Smart Bridge Pro? It's a lot of time.

    Quote Originally Posted by Zach R. View Post
    1.) Connect the old bridge and sign-in
    2.) Delete all the devices associated to the bridge by going to Lights & Shades>More>Edit>Select the device>chose Delete Device
    3.) Go to Settings>Account>Remove Account
    4.) This will remove the account from the bridge and also send a message to the server to disassociate the account and the old bridge
    5.) Plug-in the new bridge and in the Caseta app select "Get Started"
    6.) Select "Create new account" and then you should be able to enter you old email address since it has been removed from your old bridge.
    7.) The app should then start the normal setup flow procedure
    8.) Sometimes there will be cached data that makes it look like there are 2 bridges on the network
    9.) If this happens be sure to select the MAC address of the new bridge

  4. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    112
    Unfortunately there is no way around this and we apologize for the inconvenience.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    1
    Just wanted to chime in with thanks for the question and response here—they were helpful for my current situation.

    I also want to echo the comment on the inconvenience of these required steps. I hope to see Lutron get better in this area.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    2

    Cannot connect Caseta Bridge for upgrade

    Just got Caseta bridge, it wants to upgrade but cannot connect to network. Device visible on network. Have set port rules, disabled SPI, talked to support but device is useless at this point. All fingers point at Lutron to resolve. Will any wireless bridge work in its place? Or is there a worksround?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-08-2018, 07:19 PM
  2. Differences between Smart Bridge and Smart Bridge Pro
    By me262 in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-20-2017, 07:02 PM
  3. Questions about smart bridge/smart bridge Pro
    By TheVince in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-30-2016, 02:33 AM
  4. Any Smart Bulbs compatable with Lutron Smart Bridge
    By m11rphy in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2016, 04:51 PM
  5. lutron smart bridge vs smart brigde pro
    By bastor in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2014, 06:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •