Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: LMJ with Radio RA2

LMJ with Radio RA2

I am a builder who has hired a lighting designer after we already wired 22 recessed housings and covered them up. This designer sold us 22 LED fixtures to go into these cans. He also sold us 4 LMJ low voltage dimming modules to power these fixtures on 4 different circuits. These LMJ's were wired to a transformer for each circuit. We were to connect the low voltage wires at the bottom of the LMJ to each circuit. The problem is that the prewiring was done with 12/2 romex, and it was wired in parallel. We installed the lights and they work and dim, being controlled by a separate Pico on each circuit . We complained to the lighting designer that the lights do not seem bright enough. He told us the lights had to be wired in series, not parallel.
    This is a problem, since the ceilings are finished. However, we may be able to get access to the wiring and rewire in series by reversing the direction of the neutral so it can return to the LMJ.
    Here is my question. Is it worth the effort to rewire in series? Will this give us better performance than being wired in parallel from an LMJ? It works and dims as is. I had planned to use Nicor LED lights from the very beginning, but the designer told me that they were not compatible with Lutron Radio RA2. He then sold us his high quality, 0 to 10 % lights. I have proved him wrong about this and have installed the Nicor LED lights on the carport, they work and dim very well and very low with a Radio RA 6NA dimmer.
    It will be very time consuming to have someone with small hands rewire these 3 inch recessed cans. Is it worth it? Does the LMJ dimming module care whether we are wired in series or parallel?
    Thanks for your assistance.