Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help with led 3 way switch

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8

    Help with led 3 way switch

    Hi im looking for a Caseta switch for a switch that is a 3 way connected to 6 fixtures of NICOR LED ACW-20
    I have tried the switch that came with my kit (PD-6WCL) and a pico (PJ-3BRL) in 2nd location but it doesn't seem to be working at all, the LED's on switch light up and move but I only got the lights to blink once. I wired the switch as per instructions.
    is this the proper switch? I have read people changing the wiring to the switch but want to make sure first.
    also if it helps I don't care if they dim or not just looking for caseta control for on/off.
    thanks

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    111
    I looked at the spec sheet for you fixture and found some useful info. Depending on the exact model number of your fixture, they are either 39W or 49W a piece. With 6 fixtures, that means you are at either 234W or 294W total. The PD-6WCL is only rated for 150W of LED lighting.

    Secondly, that fixture is only dimmable through 0-10V dimming. To dim the fixture you would need to use a 0-10V interface (GRX-TVI) along with a Caseta Pro dimmer (PD-10NXD). If you are only concerned about switching, you could use either the PD-6ANS or PD-5WS-DV.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Zach R. Appreciate it this is exactly the info I needed, when I get my pd-6ans I will update but for now I used the other switch elsewhere and it works fine.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8
    So I got the PD6ANS and it says it requires a neutral wire which I don't have...is there any solution for me?
    Could I wire this without a neutral?

  5. #5
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by tlrlc View Post
    So I got the PD6ANS and it says it requires a neutral wire which I don't have...is there any solution for me?
    Could I wire this without a neutral?
    The PD-6ANS does require a neutral to function. You would have to use the PD-5WS-DV.

  6. #6
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    366
    Quote Originally Posted by Zach R. View Post
    The PD-6ANS does require a neutral to function. You would have to use the PD-5WS-DV.
    Also, if you are going to use the PD-5WS-DV switch, make sure you install the included LUT-MLC (Minimum Load Capacitor) across the load. This helps the switch work better with low watt LED loads.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8
    the PD-5WS-DV is hopefully coming today, when i install i should use the MLC with the LEDS regardless of wattage?
    one switch is 234 w of LED and other is 156 w ? thanks

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8
    also can i install with a 3 way installation of pico model PJ2-3BRL or does it have to be PJ2-2B? thanks for all the help Brian W. and Zach R.

  9. #9
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by tlrlc View Post
    also can i install with a 3 way installation of pico model PJ2-3BRL or does it have to be PJ2-2B? thanks for all the help Brian W. and Zach R.
    Feel free to try the install without the LUT-MLC first. If the lights don't shut off all the way or flicker, install the LUT-MLC. We have not tested the PJ2-3BRL with the switches, but it would most likely work just fine...the raise/lower buttons obviously will not change the intensity of the lights because it is controlling a switch.

Similar Threads

  1. Caseta ON/OFF Switch and normal toggle switch
    By hgmobile in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2016, 09:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •