Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Devices disappearing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7

    Angry Devices disappearing

    Has anyone else had the issue where random devices just disappear during uploads?
    This is what I get:
    Error: Unable to transfer to Lower Sitting > At Hot Tub Door > Sconces. The device is not communicating.
    Either the device is not powered on, out of range of any repeaters, or has been deactivated.
    1. the device is not powered off
    2. it is well in range of repeaters
    3. it has not been deactivated.
    As a matter of fact, it probably still works just fine. I would just feel a whole lot better seeing that every device has gotten it's database and is all good.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    608
    That's been known to happen. Wait until nearly the entire database pulls that on you on your "last" transfer before going home. Sometimes it's just a glitch, and is easily resolved by hitting "retry failed devices"- only transfers to those that did not get an update. Of note, if no changes were made that the dimmer/device in question is involved in, then just move on. If the transfer does involve changes to that specific device, the you may have to deactivate/reactivate.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    358
    Or, in persistently weird situations, delete the device AND the room containing it and recreate them both. In my case the database was somehow corrupted for just that ONE room and anything put into the configuration for it. Damnedest thing...

    Devices can continue to work just fine because they don't depend on having a wireless connection to operate. It's only scenes or interaction with other keypads/programming that would fail.

    I'd start by loading an older configuration (you DO store separate copies for each revision, right?) and see if that transfers properly. If so, then worry about your current database in the software.

Similar Threads

  1. Hybrid keypads: 1 or 2 devices?
    By joshg in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2016, 05:40 PM
  2. QS 8.5.0 Drop down menu disappearing
    By Laurence in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-26-2016, 07:56 AM
  3. Devices dropping out
    By mjohnson in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-30-2015, 10:54 AM
  4. Polling devices on the Illuminations bus ?
    By mehuneau in forum General Discussion - Legacy HW
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2015, 08:14 AM
  5. HWQS RF devices
    By digit1 in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2015, 03:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •