Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Alexa integration dimming

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    222

    Alexa integration dimming

    Any work around to create voice dimming?
    I am creating "home owner" keypads for rooms I like different light levels for. I think it will work but it's going to eat up a lot of devices.
    RadioRa2 PSP Level 2 Platiunum
    Caseta "Pro" Installer
    My Systems:
    RadioRa2 with QS Shades, Sonos, Harmony, Nest, Alexa and HomeKit
    Caseta with Harmony, HomeKit, Nest, QS shades, and Alexa.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    107
    this is being discussed over on the General Discussion forums here.

    Voice dimming is not yet supported because of the way Lutron has chosen to expose only scene triggers/buttons, NOT individual devices. You can get around it with clunky scene buttons to get to certain dim levels, but homeowner is not going to like it or find it natural.

    Also - don't use Homeowner keypads. Two reasons:
    1) as you point out, it eats up many devices (stupid decision by Lutron to have these count against device limits).
    2) Homeowner Keypads don't allow buttons to be programmed as toggles. (again, inexplicable design choice by Lutron). The best Alexa integration right now is to use toggle buttons for voice control Then you get the more natural "turn on living room lights" and "turn off {X**" commands rather than just single scene triggers.

    Instead, set up one or more virtual RR-T15RL tabletop remotes. I create a "room" called "Voice/Alexa remotes" and put them there. Then you only use 1 device count for 17 buttons ("all on" and "all off" can actually be programmed for anything you want, raising it to 17 buttons, not 15). AND you can now set up the buttons as toggles, so "on" and "off" voice commands work properly.

    The one downside to this is you'll get an error each time you Activate or Transfer programming since it can't "find" that virtual remote anywhere, but you'll know to just ignore this.

Similar Threads

  1. v10.6 is out, with Alexa Integration. How?
    By joshg in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12-04-2016, 12:56 PM
  2. RadioRA2 (and QS & Caseta) native Alexa
    By tonyworthington in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-21-2016, 02:37 PM
  3. SONOS Pico and Integration questions - Alexa, Siri etc
    By Blurum in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-30-2016, 10:07 PM
  4. How Can Alexa Dim To Preset?
    By petercoolz in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2016, 06:05 PM
  5. Dimming a <25W LED?
    By cliqk_h in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2016, 09:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •