Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  4
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Google Home

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    1

    Google Home

    Are there any plans to integrate with the new Google Home device?

  2. Likes domino, drhill, J-rad, tabraham liked this post
  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by notdave View Post
    Are there any plans to integrate with the new Google Home device?
    I'll second this question. I was surprised Google didn't have Wink integration, though Wink is hinting about things (better not be just for their new v2 hub). I like my Echo and two dot setup, but Alexa is horrible for questions or as an assistant (since I use all Google stuff anyway) compared to even the current Google Now on phones/tablets.

    Lutron support is the biggie and I'd rather not do it via Wink (if they add support) because of the Harmony Hub in my theater works with my Lutron lights down there. Harmony Hub would work via what I currently have which is a Hue Hub emulator (ha-bridge) though native would help. That leaves my thermostat (would work via Wink if supported) and my z-wave fan switches (Wink again... since Lutron doesn't care about caseta fans). I suppose there is my sprinkler system, but who really needs to do that by voice... That just leaves the mess that is Sonos, which Google already supports on Android in Google Play Music (which is all I use).

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by notdave View Post
    Are there any plans to integrate with the new Google Home device?
    Also would like to know what the plans are.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1
    I am trying to decide between the Amazon Echo and the Google Home. I would like to know if there are plans to support the Home.

  6. #5
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    109
    Lutron will continue to integrate with best-in-class brands, however, we don't publicly discuss future product developments and roadmaps, so stay tuned everyone.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    8
    Very useful information (NOT)!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1
    What bothers me most about this is I was able to use Google now on my phone to operate my Lutron switches. All of a sudden that stopped working. I mentioned it to Lutron and they said their was an issue and Google was aware of it. Now I own the Google home and it doesn't work. How can they not release it with something they had working perfectly about two months ago?

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    11
    While this is annoyingly unannounced so far... I was able to get the SmartThings to work with the Lutron Bridge running this on my ubuntu server :
    https://github.com/njschwartz/Lutron-Smart-Pi

  10. #9
    I was able to get the GHome to work with IFTTT. But due to the nature of the Caseta service applet, I had to create one IFTTT app for turning a room on, and a separate one for off. Same could be done for a Scene. Rather than dropdown list to pick room/scene, this needs to accept a variable. My Siri works just find, and no programming like the GHome.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    11
    FYI, to go along with the Smartthing capabilities added weeks ago (which added Google Home capabilities via that integration) Lutron added native Google Home capabilities today. No scene control, but you can ask the home about light status. That's nice. Thanks Lutron.

    Home has "room" designations if you want to use them. It only allows one room per switch so they aren't "groups". Meaning you can't have a light in "family room", as well as "downstairs", and "inside". I got around that by setting up a virtual switch in Smartthings for "Inside" but using the "downstairs" room in Home.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat not visible by Home-Smart Home Automation/ElGato E
    By Justin.coolDallas in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2017, 03:26 AM
  2. Apple Home Kit - Potential Answer to Home Automation Integration
    By schalliol in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 11-15-2015, 02:02 AM
  3. RA2 Essentials for Google Chrome?
    By SDR-Mike in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-30-2015, 09:31 PM
  4. Problem with app name and opening using Google Now on Android?
    By wkearney99 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2014, 03:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •