Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How to retrofit Illumination keypad to QS system?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    113

    How to retrofit Illumination keypad to QS system?

    I know that I would need a link translator HQ-HWI-LX and a $1500 license fee, but how do I add it on QS? I look under the toolbox and there is no such keypad option available. How would I add it and then how is the programming different than QS keypads?

    I'm currently dealing with offering an option to upgrade a DOA series 4 processor and all signs are pointing to "it's not worth to upgrade to QS and we might as well use RR2".

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    392
    In QS go to project settings and then project options there you will see that show illumination needs to be checked

    You will need to buy all new keypads if you go to Radio Gaga Depends how many keypads you currently have and 1 other factor is make sure there is no conditional programing on any keypad because you most likely can no duplicate it in Radio Gaga

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by mcignarella View Post
    In QS go to project settings and then project options there you will see that show illumination needs to be checked

    You will need to buy all new keypads if you go to Radio Gaga Depends how many keypads you currently have and 1 other factor is make sure there is no conditional programing on any keypad because you most likely can no duplicate it in Radio Gaga
    Thanks for the info. I have no access to the old programming as the original A/V company installer disappeared and honestly had done a terrible job regardless. They didn't even bother with stickers, much less engraving. From the homeowner's description, they were just simple light scenes as this was a spec house. I'm just absolutely shocked that Lutron doesn't simply charge a fee to repair an out of warranty processor so the programming can be preserved, especially since there is no backup memory. Even more shocked that we can't buy a replacement processor even! I deal with another whole home system based in Utah (won't mention name) and their previous generation's 20 year old processors can still be sent in for repairs and there is even a backup memory so my respect for Lutron has gone down a lot here since I had to tell the customer that something that should be $600 at most is going to be well over $10,000!

    There are less than 20 keypads and I would have to change the panel (still not sure why QS insists on having its own fancy panel and just screw in to the old panel or the wall like RR), buy an additional repeater, Replace the WPM's, pay the $1500 license fee (which is double charging IMO), and reprogram everything. Whatever saving they would have on the 9 year old keypads would be gone with the other parts.

Similar Threads

  1. Where are all the LV LED recessed retrofit fixtures
    By mark2457 in forum General Discussion - LED
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-20-2015, 10:16 AM
  2. Using HomeWorks QS to Control a HomeWorks Illumination System
    By Armando B. in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-23-2015, 04:31 PM
  3. Adding a keypad to RadioRa2 system - electrical requirements?
    By geofry in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-30-2014, 05:38 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-11-2013, 04:29 PM
  5. HomeWorks Illumination wired keypad troubleshoot
    By Craig W. in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 04:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •