Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: iOS 10 - Home app. PICO remotes are missing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    19

    iOS 10 - Home app. PICO remotes are missing

    The new Home app in iOS is pretty great. I can now control my Lutron Caseta switches and Philips Hue lights from within the same app.

    One big missing feature is the ability to set PICO remotes as accessories in the Home app, and be able to use the Home app's automation function to add actions to PICO remotes. This would be a hug improvement and would allow PICO to become a physical controller/remote for any HomeKit products. Would make Caseta a must have in any HomeKit setup :)

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by giacino View Post
    The new Home app in iOS is pretty great. I can now control my Lutron Caseta switches and Philips Hue lights from within the same app.

    One big missing feature is the ability to set PICO remotes as accessories in the Home app, and be able to use the Home app's automation function to add actions to PICO remotes. This would be a hug improvement and would allow PICO to become a physical controller/remote for any HomeKit products. Would make Caseta a must have in any HomeKit setup :)
    I completely agree with you and want this feature added so badly. I'm currently using a discontinued Staples Connect to achieve this which sucks because Eve outlet switches, which are HomeKit compatible, are too new for the Staples Connect and I have to turn of my Hue bulbs using the Pico remote and then using Siri to turn of the Eve switches, I wish I could do it all with the Pico remote.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    HomeKit's Home app is not going to get Picos or Taps any time soon. But you can see it all in one app - Caseta dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, Hue bulbs, as well as Hue taps - if you add them to the HomeSense app.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    12
    I tried the HomeSense app but the point of having the Pico remote work with HomeKit as an accessory is so I don't have to use an app. This is the only reason I have stuck with Staples Connect hub which I cannot wait to drop.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    19
    I am currently considering adding the new Logitech Pop button (3 clicks option). with its bridge it can connect to Lutron Caseta directly, to Logitech Harmony (and Lutron Caseta), and to HomeKit (and Lutron Caseta).

    I guess it is recognized as an accessory in Homekit. But I haven't confirmed it yet. And if so, it could be a possible solution to add physical remotes to HomeKit.

    Strange that there are not many options at there. Are they all moving to voice control?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    12

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by giacino View Post
    I am currently considering adding the new Logitech Pop button (3 clicks option). with its bridge it can connect to Lutron Caseta directly, to Logitech Harmony (and Lutron Caseta), and to HomeKit (and Lutron Caseta).

    I guess it is recognized as an accessory in Homekit. But I haven't confirmed it yet. And if so, it could be a possible solution to add physical remotes to HomeKit.
    I would hate to use Pop as they seem really big and can only do 3 functions via one button.


    Quote Originally Posted by giacino View Post
    Strange that there are not many options at there. Are they all moving to voice control?
    I also find it strange and annoying. I prefer Pico remotes over having to ask Siri to do things, and I always have my Apple Watch on my wrist! It's just easier to press a button on a Pico remote which you can place anywhere in a room!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    3
    i am waiting for this Lutron!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    12
    I finally found a solution to my problem, and that was switching to HomeSeer which allowed me control my Serena shades, Philips Hue lights and zwave devices all using my Pico remotes. The flexibility this system allows is amazing, I don't think HomeKit will ever allow for this level of customization. I consider HomeSeer a step above SmartThings in complexity and flexibility but not so complicated I could figure out. I did get a Lutron Smart Bridge Pro 2 so this may be a factor in the ease of use but it was beyond worth it. Here are a few things I can do with a few of my picos:

    1. Pico on my desk:
    Press On: Turns on my monitors.
    Press On a 2nd time: Turns on my speakers
    Press On a 3rd time: Turns off my speakers

    Press Raise: Turns on my Nespresso machine in the kitchen
    Press Raise a 2nd time: Turns off my Nespresso machine

    Press Favorite Button: Dims all my lights, turns off speakers, lowers all the blinds, locks the front door

    Press Lower: Turns off printer, waits 2 seconds, turns printer on (my printer sometimes needs to be power cycled in order to work, annoying but this makes it easier to live with)

    Press Off: Turns off monitors and speakers

    2. Sonos Pico remote in the kitchen

    Play/Pause button: Play the Top 250 most played songs smart playlist on shuffle from iTunes in the kitchen speakers using AirPlay (I used an old Airport Express to use as an AirPlay receiver to the kitchen speakers)
    Play/Pause button a 2nd Time: Pauses music

    Raise: Raises volume by 10%

    Favoriote: Previous song

    Lower: Lower volume by 10%

    Skip: Skips to next track


    These are just 2 examples and that's not even the more complex stuff I am doing with HomeSeer and the Pico remotes, this is exactly what I have been looking for ever since I got to home automation, so much flexibility. And I was able to take things a step further, using a Raspberry Pi I was able to use HomeBridge with the HomeSeer plugin allowing me to control Zwave devices in HomeKit! So I can still use Siri to control EVERYTHING! Ah its such a relief to have such powerful customization and none of it relies on the cloud, everything is local which is another plus.

Similar Threads

  1. Problems using both the App and the remotes
    By George in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2016, 11:02 PM
  2. Pico 4 button remotes and wiring question
    By addcorp in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-14-2016, 02:37 PM
  3. Suggestions for clear labels for Pico remotes?
    By ultravelocity in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 09:27 AM
  4. One dimmer and two remotes
    By Art743 in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 11:10 AM
  5. Using Pico Switch Keypad with Home Control+
    By geofry in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2014, 11:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •