Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Lutron Fan PD-FSQN-WH Speed Control Google Assistant

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    1

    Lutron Fan PD-FSQN-WH Speed Control Google Assistant

    I can control the speed for my fan through the Lutron app. But I cannot control the speed through google assistant.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,296
    This is a known issue for both the Caseta fan speed and the RadioRA2 fan speed controllers. It is not a Lutron issue, but the voice assistant. Alexa and Google assistant are not coded to handle High/Low commands for fans. Create scenes via the app for Caseta/R2S or have the programmer create a Homeowner keypad for RadioRA2. Use something similar to Fan High/Fan Medium/Fan Low/Fan Off for the scene names and allow the voice assistant access to those scenes in the settings of the appropriate app.
    forum formatting all screwy, so bye-bye signature,

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by SDR-Mike View Post
    This is a known issue for both the Caseta fan speed and the RadioRA2 fan speed controllers. It is not a Lutron issue, but the voice assistant. Alexa and Google assistant are not coded to handle High/Low commands for fans. Create scenes via the app for Caseta/R2S or have the programmer create a Homeowner keypad for RadioRA2. Use something similar to Fan High/Fan Medium/Fan Low/Fan Off for the scene names and allow the voice assistant access to those scenes in the settings of the appropriate app.
    I don't believe that is the case really. I hooked my Caseta lights and fans to Google assistant via HomeAssistant for a couple of reasons. 1. Speed - voice commands to homeassistant work much faster than Lutron's Google integration (unless Lutron were to action support the Local SDK...) 2. Home assistant fan support includes the ability to use slow/low, medium, and high with my Lutron switches. The only downside is when Google acknowledges the low speed it says "setting to slow". I suspect it's because HomeAssistant lists the "slow" synonym before the "low" synonym.If Lutron isn't giving proper synonyms to Google for control it won't work with low/medium/high.

Similar Threads

  1. Lutron Scenes work with Siri, but not Google Assistant
    By TheReef510 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2019, 09:11 AM
  2. Google Assistant Problems
    By mikerpalmer in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2019, 10:18 AM
  3. Google Home & Google Assistant Integration with Fan Switches
    By Tazplex in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2018, 11:20 AM
  4. Google Assistant causes lights to flash
    By NicoleColorado in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2017, 03:29 PM
  5. Google Assistant
    By brianbgarber in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2017, 07:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •