Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: 4-way wiring Help (Caseta PKG1W-WH-R)

Question 4-way wiring Help (Caseta PKG1W-WH-R)

I need some help with figuring out how/if this switch will work in he 4-way wiring scheme that I have, I know I will just use 1 Caseta Dimmer with 2 Picos. I have glanced at the Advanced Installation guide about the 4-way installation but the wiring situation I have appears to be different from the guide. It appears the guide is showing you how to install the switch if the SOURCE power is coming into the switch first and then flowing to the light fixtures. In my case (at least from what I have found on the internet as I am no electrician) the SOURCE power goes through the lights first and then to the switch so the wiring is different.
    Here is an example diagram I found on the internet that matches what I have connecting to my current 4-way setup.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wiring-a-4-way-switch.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	33.2 KB 
ID:	514
    (if the picture doesn't work or is not big enough here is the link http://www.easy-do-it-yourself-home-...g-diagram.html and it is "Option #1 Power from light fixture to switch")

Is it possible to use one of these switches in this configuration to control LED can lights?

Thanks
    Matt

You'll need to tie the power through on two of the switches and install your dimmer on one of them. Use two picos to cover the other two switches. The dimmer in that package cannot use regular switches as a three way.
    Simple automation when DIY isn't working
    intuitivehomecontrols@gmail.com
    fb.me/intuitivehomecontrols

Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    You'll need to tie the power through on two of the switches and install your dimmer on one of them. Use two picos to cover the other two switches. The dimmer in that package cannot use regular switches as a three way.