Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Question about Comcast security integration

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    2

    Question about Comcast security integration

    I recently had an xfinity security system installed. I now see that Caseta products are compatible with it for home automation. I am interested in installing a Lutron PD-6ans-WH in a 3-way switch configuration. I just want it to do simple on/off operation and then also have access to it through an app.

    from what I can tell, a hub of some kind has to be used with it. Can I use my newly installed xfinity system as the "hub" since I have seen where items can be added!to this system. Or does it not work like this?

    also, when I do get it installed and paired with the smart app, can I see whether that light is on or off through the app (& turn off if needed)?

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    366
    In order to have the Caseta controls work with Xfinity, you first need a Caseta bridge (model # L-BDG2-WH) and use the free Lutron Caseta app to set up the system. Once the Caseta side has been set up, you should then be able to link the Caseta bridge with the Xfinity system hub. You should then be able to use the Xfinity app to monitor and control the Caseta switches and dimmers. You would need to talk to Xfinity on how to link their app with our bridge.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    2
    OK, sounds good. If for some reason, xfinity can't set up the bridge, can I then just use the bridge and app independently from the Xfinity system? Also, in case I wind up dropping the Xfinity security in the future. Or is that where I would then need the "hub"?

  4. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    366
    Quote Originally Posted by mcf57 View Post
    OK, sounds good. If for some reason, xfinity can't set up the bridge, can I then just use the bridge and app independently from the Xfinity system? Also, in case I wind up dropping the Xfinity security in the future. Or is that where I would then need the "hub"?
    Yes, you can always use the Caseta app independently from the Xfinity system. In any case, in order to use either app, you will always need the Caseta smart bridge.

  5. #5
    I have Comcast home too but they still haven't implemented control of Caseta. They do list Lutron Caseta as one of the products that "Works with Xfinity Home" but it doesn't . They're saying sometime this year but no definite date. It's kind of annoying that they should list it as working with Xfinity when it doesn't though.

Similar Threads

  1. Caseta Smart Bridge and Comcast
    By NormVA in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2016, 09:48 AM
  2. Security system integration questions
    By FlyingDiver in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2016, 01:06 PM
  3. Home/Away security integration
    By Jeepdon in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2015, 11:02 AM
  4. Security Mode
    By mcignarella in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-14-2015, 11:16 AM
  5. Security mode
    By Craig W. in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-08-2015, 02:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •